You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When the living leave us

in #silverbloggers11 months ago

My grandmother, the wife of my grandfather who just passed, died a few months before I came to Japan, so the opposite of you, but also with serious Alzheimer’s.

My grandfather experienced her illness and I didn’t ever want that to happen to him.

Apparently, some time within the past six months he began having Alzheimer’s hallucinations that would leave him very confused and panicked. When I spoke to him last week, he was crystal clear and knew who everyone was around him. Two months ago, he dropped by my brother’s house with his girlfriend and walked himself around the property, smiling at my brother’s new projects.

Whether he somehow choose to let himself go, or his time just came, I don’t know, but it’s a blessing that he was able to pass away peacefully and before his hallucinations became worse.

That’s interesting about the timing of your wife’s pregnancy. As much as I don’t fully believe in the meaning of those coincidences, I still enjoy them and find comfort in them. I wrote about it in a separate comment on this post.