9 November 2023

in #silverbloggers6 months ago

Tac-Cat Group - small copy.jpg

Yesterday afternoon after all the other expats had left from being at Expat Day, Christian had a meeting of all his employees. I tried to leave but he wanted me to stay to hear everything that was going on. He does that during some of the meetings. I guess it was a bit beneficial for me being there this time though. They talked about customer service and how to improve it. They talked about the store opening up this coming Saturday. The only thing they are waiting on was to buy the supplies to stock the store. That, they were supposed to be doing today. We'll see.

I went walking this morning with Emil. I did not do a very good job of walking because I had to stop to rest twice. I think it bothers Emil when I have to keep stopping, but he's patient with me. He arrived at 0500 this morning to begin the walk. It's the time I wanted him to be here but I didn't think he would make it. Last time he was late. Anyway, I wasn't quite ready this morning. I still had to put my walking clothes on. That only takes about 2 minutes, including putting on my shoes. While walking I also had to stop to get some water. I got 1 small bottle in 1 location and then another at my favorite sari-sari store to buy the water. I also found out that they open at 0530, so the current route we take is good if I want to continue buying water there. He doesn't bring "Vadar", his Rottweiler, because of all the people we encounter on the way, plus there is a patch or two along the highway without any established walkway, so you have to walk on the side of the highway.

My niece, Grace, will be selling the fruits and nuts at the Mango Store, like she was before. It seems that she did pretty good selling them and she's happy for the store to be re-opening. I suppose she knows better now which types of nuts sold and which ones just sat there doing nothing. I'm got a feeling that the almonds are good sellers. She says she will give Mango a discount on the pecans they want to buy for the pecan pie they are attempting to make for the Thanksgiving lunch on 23 November.

I got a clearer view of the full menu for that Thanksgiving lunch. Turkey, mashed potatoes with gravy, Baguio beans, roasted potatoes, cranberry sauce, carrots and the dessert is unsure. Working on things like Yorkshire pudding, pecan pie, cherry pie and apple pie. I might be missing something else that goes on the plate but I'm pretty sure that's all he mentioned. I'll ask about stuffing, that seems a given, but we'll see. Regular plate is P550 and the King size plate (double everything) is P850. I'll probably just get a regular plate and order a king plate for take out, as I normally do when Mango has the roasts. The king size plate is to feed at least 3 people back at the house and I'm sure that they also share it a little with a couple of others.

I got a clearer view of the full menu for the Thanksgiving lunch on 23 Nov. Turkey, mashed potatoes with gravy, Baguio beans, roasted potatoes, cranberry sauce, carrots and the dessert is unsure. Working on things like Yorkshire pudding, pecan pie, cherry pie and apple pie. I might be missing something else that goes on the plate but I'm pretty sure that's all he mentioned. I'll ask about stuffing, that seems a given, but we'll see. Regular plate is P550 and the King size plate (double everything) is P850.

I found that I like GCash, but I still don't like my phone very much. I think that if I put enough load on my phone that I'd be able to pay some of my bill with it without even leaving the house. Well, at least the water bill, maybe the cable and internet. I can't pay the electric because they kind of limit the amount you can have on your GCash account and my electric bill is usually higher than that limit. It's find, I can pay the other bills, so that's good for me. My phone is constantly losing the internet connection even though I'm sitting right next to the computer supplying the connection. Also, usually, when trying to get into GCash, I have to turn my phone off, then back, to get to the GCash. It's a nuisance.

I'm debating whether I should go to Mango today. Randy if probably over there now playing cribbage and/or Scrabble with Christian. They do that on Thursdays. Actually, I do need to go by there if only for a few minutes. Usually, when I go for a few minutes it turns into a few hours. It's 12:45 right now and I have not eaten today, but I don't really feel hungry anyway. Some days it seems like I'm hungry all the time and others, like today, I feel I can go all day without anything to eat at all. Maybe I'll order one of the odd things on the menu at Mango, just to try to keep the cooks on their toes about how to make it. I've be known to do that.

Emil just stopped by. He has not gotten the store established yet and I keep bugging him for some oatmeal/raisin cookies so I'm going to help him get the ingredients so he can make them. He is walking to Pure Gold to find out how much it costs. Then he will let me know. Hopefully they have all he needs there. I told him I'd probably be at Mango, so he's just going there when he returns.

So, that means I'm going to be closing this and getting ready for Mango. As I suspected, Randy is there, Emil told me, playing cribbage. It's 1:00 now so I'm going to take a shower, change clothes and then head over there. The next post will tell you if anything interesting happened while I was there. Plus, I'll have an update on those cookies.

The photo is mine that I created with Paint. It is the new expat group that I took over because the previous Admin did not have time to take care of it. I still have not gotten a co-Admin or Moderator to help me. I really would like someone that lives in the Catbalogan/Tacloban area to volunteer. Do you like the name I made up for it, "Tac-Cat Expats"?

Sort:  

Hi John, it's jerrytsuseer.
I just came to follow you, and glanced through this post.
I to am ex USAF

That was about 1978 when I was awarded SAC NCO of the Month, the pic is from the Airforce magazine (or was it SAC mag?)
I served in the Titan IIC ICBM system on Combat Crew in Tucson Az.

Our Squadron patch, the "Ace in the hole"
I got a bad start, had a superior officer use his rank to get me to do 'sexual things' with him, and even though I exceled an my job, personally I was spirally downward very quickly into drugs and alcohol.
I was personally responsible for the 390th SMW getting an UnSat in an IG inspection, not because of anything I had done per se, but because I wouldn't lie to the IG Flight Surgeon.
I went from NCO of the Month to Private First Class as they tried to give me a general discharge, but since I fought it for 3 months and had nothing but GLOWING reports, I did manage to get an Honorable, but they still discharged me.
Without treatment, the next 20 yrs were a loss in a haze of drugs and alcohol.
I have my own home now, I'm 69 going on 1000 yrs old.
I used to brag to my service mates that I would live to be 120. I doubt that now very seriously.
Well now you know most of my life history

↑Upvoted↑ and ←Reblogged→


Cool Post John :) I should start something like that, there's definitely a lot going on at Mango

You should. Or at least inform me and let me write about it.