Gold Prospecting

in #silvergoldstackerslast year (edited)

Hi friends,

I got the chance to spend a half day gold prospecting recently so I wanted to share about it.

To spare you the suspense - I found no gold. :(

This was about my 5th time trying out my metal detector on the hunt for gold nuggets in the Arizona desert, and I have come up empty each time.

It is tough to find gold when there are staked claims everywhere - here is where I went, right below hundreds of staked claims in a known gold district:

759AFE32-01AD-4AED-A4F8-5A8E051D79B8.jpeg

As you can see, not much for an average joe like me to find. Not to mention, most of the mining in the area is hard rock where they are chasing gold seams in the host rock, while I am searching the surface for nuggets that eroded from the gold streaks. It’s not impossible to find gold, but it is quite the challenge.

This area also has tons of iron - it makes metal detecting for gold very difficult as everything sets the detector off. I try to have it discriminate and it also gives me an iron reader, but still so challenging to prospect like this.

I did get outside and had a good time, here are a few pics:

68FC249C-5F9A-45F3-8DD1-89A32ECDB858.jpeg

2D9592E2-B795-4322-97B8-CDF6D80D3461.jpeg

9133354D-C71E-4ECE-B659-E8B98B32D98F.jpeg

Though no gold was found, it could certainly have been a worse day - I could have broken a leg hiking in the wilderness, I could have gotten bitten by a rattlesnake, I could have accidentally been on a claim and got shot, I could have been hit by a falling boulder, I could have slipped off a steep ledge, etc - anytime you come back in one piece is a good day gold prospecting!

Maybe next time I will find a nugget…

Thanks for coming by,
Brian

Sort:  

Dam, came up empty. But it looks really nice out there.

At least you went out and looked. Most just watch tv and dream. You went and did and i !LUV that. The desert is beautiful this time of year.
Thanks for sharing your hunt.

I think you should have a good detector to search for gold in this rocky area.

Suck that you didn't find anything but at least you got some time in nature also some nice pictures and like you said it could have been worse

It's still fun to hike around looking for it! And even more fun if you find some!

The way you diligently read everything and you go, if not today then tomorrow you will surely find what you are looking for. When a person works hard, he gets his reward.

This is very interesting to me. You noted a lot of risks of doing this, but will finding a nugget be worth it? Or are you just doing it because you really like it, and enjoy the experience? The area looks nice and serene, so that's a plus.

You have had a beautiful journey. I hope you get gold soon. That's why don't stop trying. Best wishes.

Any day with pretty flowers and lovely scenery is a win! 😊

I think gold prospecting is quite fun. Especially if you can find a little bit of shiny !

You received an upvote of 91% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Look like a great day for it!

Kind of like they say about fishing, a bad day of fishing is better than a good day at work. So you can say a bad day at prospecting is better than a good day at work 😀. At least your detector is getting used. Mine is still in the box, brand new never been used. I bought right when my health when to shit a couple years ago. Hoping to put it to use in a few months as I get better. Just gotta find a place where i can detect without getting blasted.