Silver Dish

Hi friends,

I mentioned the other day we are clearing out my late grandfathers house. One things I found in a shed was a toned dish:

IMG_7538.jpeg

Do you think this is actual silver? Likely sterling silver if so, but probably need to do more analysis as it is quite heavy and the toning makes me believe so.

I image there is a market for items like this, but not exactly a “go into the local coin shop” type of sale so work to figure out a liquidation method.

Let me know if you have thoughts!

Thanks for coming by,
Brian

Sort:  

I think it might be sold as an antique.

you need to light it up with fire to check whether it is silver or not.

I guess you can check it out with a magnet. If it doesn't attract, then it could be pure silver.

Whenever we go to our elders' house in this way, we get to see many such special things.

Greetings @brian.rrr ,

What a find...Antique shoppes appreciate that sort of thing. On the bottom of the piece..it should have some markings..any dealer will look for. It is probably silver plate.

You might want to wait for silver to rise a bit more before parting with it.

Hello to your good lady.

Cheers!

I dont think its silver, that would be wayyyy too much

I don’t think it is actual silver but when you sell it, you’d definitely get some cool cash
Well, it’s for grandpa so it should be kept for remembrance

A tureen!!! Keep it!!

The silver utensil is very beautiful as it is seen in one of its form in which there is some design also but bhajan looks good in it.

This is absolutely possible. Which may contain silver coins and utensils. Nowadays it is used this way. Silver has its own value. But they are available in the market. thank you @brian.rrr, welcome

Look for a set of tiny little stamps called Hallmarks. They should be on the bottom.

You received an upvote of 93% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!


Hey @brian.rrr, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

@monsterjamgold is your best bet for info. He knows where to find and how to read the markings telling what it is and where it's from.

It actually looks so silver in appearance I really guess

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below