You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to vote - calling ALL members, speak now and be heard.

I'm commenting here as a current no delegator but former Gold level delegator, so take my opinion with all the grains of salt you like.

First and foremost, you have two proposals on the table, therefor there should be a separate up/down vote on each of the two proposals. While they may intertwine, people could have a different opinion on each of the two ideas.

So, I read through the original post and skimmed the comments, and have read through the comments on this one as well. I am still a little confused about the use of the first policy. I understand the idea of keeping the silvergoldstacker tag clean (or at least as clean as possible) and I fully support that. However, I am going to assume that there are other people in the group that are in the same situation I was in when I was gold level. I don't stack enough or have enough silver to review to do a post about precious metals every day, or even every week sometimes. If a member is delegating at one of the optional levels, and posts something (correctly tagged) that does not pertain to precious metals, will they still receive their vote, or will they only get votes on precious metals posts?

While there is a certain amount of community support that goes in to delegating to this account, there is also an ROI expectation from the use of that Hive Power. If I was delegating 2500 HP to the community, but only posting precious metals related posts one a week, and posting personal stuff the rest of the week, how would my votes be cast?

If the votes for higher tier delegations are only on precious metals posts then some people may have to reevaluate their participation, which potentially hurts the value of the bot for everyone.

Chances are I am misunderstanding this point, but I think it is an important clarification.

On point number 2, I do not see anything in the posts or comments about how you can accrue the votes and still ensure that the bot's Voting Power stays in the range to ensure all members are getting vote value. The easiest way to demonstrate this is if a couple of Gold Tier members don't post for a couple of days, and then both post on the same day calling for 100% upvotes from the @ssg-community. Throw a couple of Silver and Copper members doing the same thing, on the same day, and suddenly the Voting Power drops below the preferred level, and people posting during the same 24 hour period are not getting the full expected value of their vote.

You guys are far smarter than me when it comes to this stuff, so I am sure you have done some of the math to ensure that accrued votes would not negatively impact the Voting Power percentage, but I feel like it needs to be mentioned in a way to assure members that there is a mechanism in place to protect their upvotes from unexpectedly low VP.

I'm trying to convince myself to be more active on Hive, though I still don't have much precious metals to post about, and I am super appreciative to have made it through the last culling of the member roles, so I will support the community decision. I just want to be made smarter by getting these things clarified.

Thanks!!