You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1oz Silver 2016 Australian Kookaburra

I can definitely see the appeal in coin collecting or stacking. We went through our piggy bank looking for 'mistakes' once, wiled away a rainy afternoon. No joy though

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Hey @riverflows, I think I first got the bug when my dad came back from an overseas work trip nd brought back some foreign coins. As a young boy, these different coins were amazing to me.

Now my appreciation for coins, is first and foremost based on the underlying metal, i.e. platinum, gold or silver... as I know that they will always have a store of value. Then I focus on the coin design, rarity and collectability of the coin. At least if I get it wrong and buy a coin that turns out not to be collectable, then at least I know the precious metal it is made from has a value. :-)