Inherited collection highlight - 1828 Capped Bust Dime from my Mothers side.

in #silvergoldstackers11 months ago

20230526_150216-COLLAGE.jpg

I decided to start a new series of posts.

I decided to start a new series of posts highlighting times from my collection that I inherited from either my mother's side of my father's side. I have a small but diverse collection in combination from both and I decided to use these posts as a way to highlight coins that I like within. I won't show every coin, or common ones but I intend to highlight the more uncommon or collection of coins that I really like.

I think it will give me a good reason to look through and enjoy my collection as I pick out what to share next. It will also help me think of the good memories. Given the age of the collection, clearly all the Dollars, Quarters, Dimes etc will be silver. the rest will be Clad, but in the same time period.

1828 Capped Bust Dime

I will say I was quite surprised when I found this in my grandfather's collection. It's clearly very old and must have come from his father or his grandfather. I wouldn't love to have known where it came from but all I know is that when I was going through the coins that were in his old little safes and a coin jar these are what came out.

I am ecstatic that still had enough design and date visible for me to identify it. So many of these coins eventually just became slicks and are almost indistinguishable. Well this is very clearly a very low grade, it would be somewhere in the 1-4 if I was lucky! Either way I think it's great to have it in my collection and markdown where it came from. This came from my mother's son and will most likely be the oldest coin in my collection for quite some time. To get any older than this is going to be a challenge both to find one that I like, and to find one I can afford.

Let's take a closer look at the obverse

PXL_20230526_193903873~2.jpg

Close Close Up

PXL_20230526_193903873~3.jpg

Very little is left on this coin. Just the large outline of the head and bust, along with the date. You can still luckily see some of the Stars along the outside edging but for the most part any of the details and the word Liberty on the headband are gone. This really is a beautiful coin when you start to get to F_VF and above. The details really start to show, I think it looks great.

Let's take a closer book at the reverse

PXL_20230526_193922374~2.jpg

PXL_20230526_193922374~3.jpg

The reverse has very similar where to the front where the majority of the detail left is just the large outline of the eagle, half of the letters and just enough to make out the fact that it says 10 C. Most of the fine detail is missing but that's fine by me as it means more to have coming from my family.

I think I would l like to get lucky and find a LCS that has one of these in better condition that I can afford. Honestly it is rare that I even see them most of the time I go into the LCS

LIBERTY

Funny how in our begning we worshiped LIBERTY - and all the scary freedom it gave us. We were responsible for ourselves and our family. Now we seem to worship old leaders - presidents, and not the principals we were founded on.

--Senstless.

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 79% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Cool coins and the fact they were handed down from family is super cool. Definitely post more of these ya !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @senstless.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thanks!! I have quite a mess in my office as I work through it all, but it is nice to get back in to collecting a bit. Have to thank my kiddos and the scout merit badge for brining me back! !LUV !PIZZA

Wow, from your great grandfather! It has been around for many, many years.

It is from either my Grandfather or Great Grandfather on my mothers side. There was a mix of stuff together, so I labeled them all that way. Crazy part is, for my kids, it will be their great or great great grandfathers! !LUV !PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@senstless(3/10) tipped @bitcoinman
senstless tipped thebighigg
senstless tipped summertooth
senstless tipped ironshield
senstless tipped kerrislravenhill
senstless tipped silversaver888

The dime is great, I like how it's worn and has a lot of character. "Scary freedom"... Yes I think we need more of that today. It's better than the "terrifying tyranny" of today.

Thanks, I think some women character as well. Especially when I know who had them last. Freedom is always better than tyranny, but most people seem to want the opposite. !PIZZA

We now worship dead presidents.... Liberty is gone... We need to bring back Liberty to our coins and paper money. The founding fathers would roll over in their graves seeing what America has become.... sigh...

Now capped bust coins are awesome. That's a very nice coin even if it is well worn. Makes you wonder where they've been. Best of all your family collected them making it even cooler! At one point I collected the bust half dollars but quickly learned to only buy graded coins after being burned on a beautiful cleaned one. Here's a picture of it:

image.png

Pretty as hell, but it was dipped so lost most of it's value! I ended up returning this one because they had warrantied not to have been cleaned.

I can't wait to see more of those awesome coins you have there. Keep them coming!

Holy smokes that is a high grade coin there. Real shame it was cleaned, otherwise it would be a real gem. Impressive they offered a guarantee,.don't see that too often. !PIZZA

A suggestion.
We could assemble a Seance together and ask your Great grandfather for the story on these coins!
I know someone here's got a silver Ouija board.

Sounds like a good plan for the next SGS event. I'm going to ask them if the buried any gold in the backyard. !PIZZA

Those are really sick , I hope to land some eventually

They are really interesting, and I don't see them too much in my LCS. I need to drive a long way to the one that has higher quality stuff to see much Bust designs. I hope.you find a good one soon. !PIZZA