1oz Canadian Maple Leaf .9999 fine silver coin

With the recent price action for silver trending up I've taken my stacking to ebay where I've been focusing more on numismatic pick-ups, like this 1955 US quarter. While most of the stuff sells for fair market value, and higher, there are also some deals to be had if you spend enough time browsing and get some luck too.

A few weeks back I was browsing Royal Canadian Mint 1oz rounds and I came across this maple from 1988 still in the original mylar wrapper!
1000000849.jpg

Do you see it? There is a bit of toning on the bottom right edge of the coin and if you look closer you can see the mylar is opened on the right.

Let's zoom in on that.
1000000850.jpg

I'm not a big fan of plastic in general and I really hate it wraped around my silver. I understand why it's used and I do have many rounds and coins in plastic airtites, but when I saw this was opened there was only one thing to do...
1000000851.jpg
Ahhhhhh, that's better :)

The toning on the edge is actually pretty cool. This is the best picture I could get but it still does not show all the colors. It's a real rainbow of toning in that little strip.
1000000846.jpg

I didn't know the history of the 1oz Canadian maple until I got this and searched for the mintage numbers.

image.png

That's when I learned I had purchased one from the first year they were produced 🎉
1000000848.jpg
Go Little Queenie :D

This thing looks real nice out of the wrapper for sure, though I may put it in an airtite just because it's a first year issue coin.
1000000847.jpg

Wound you have taken this out of the wrap once discovering the seal was broken?

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Precious the Silver Mermaid, I would put syrup all over your waffle where can I get box 😃

image.png

!LUV

ssg-community, summertooth sent you LUV. 🙂 (5/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Never unwrap! 😂🤣

Actually in this case yes. I would unwrap it. Before popping it straight into an airtite!

I know! In this case I am going to pop it in a airtite. For now it's back in the original mylar wrap...phew xD
!LUV

dfinney, summertooth sent you LUV. 🙂 (6/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

That is actually super awesome and a really killer coin. And I'm really excited to see silver stay high. Oops I mean I really hope that the dollar isn't going to be this continuously weak.

Thanks man! I'm not holding my breath for a stronger dollar but let's hope!

In precious metals we trust!

My hero….
!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I be !PIMP'n


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @silverd510.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

That's a beauty! That's a great addition to your stack!
!BBH

@summertooth! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (11/50)

Thanks ya !PIMP ya!
:D


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Sweet Inaugural Leaf 🍁
Even with a crappy FX of CAD to USD of $0.60 the Canuck buck had better buying power back in 1988 than today.

Thank Kerris!

I just learned this!?!??

image.png

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @kerrislravenhill.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

You should pay to have it graded. It's important to grade government bullion.

Only if it's graded BY the government!!

Gay

Yes, you are.
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 20.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 20.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 4/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District