Silver 500 Reis from Brazil/ Re-blog lottery for a chance to win 3 HSBI!

Continuing on with my South American coins, this one is from Brazil. Brazil is the one country in South America that speaks Portuguese, while most obviously speak Spanish. That is except for Guyana that speaks English. The reason for this was it was claimed by Portugal as their territory in the year 1500. For the first couple hundred years the Indigenous and European sides were almost always in a state of fighting. Eventually Brazil became an important exporter of cane sugar for Portugal, however to accomplish this slaves were sadly sent in to handle the labor.

After the South American continent began to break away from Europe in the early 1800's the same happened in Brazil. In 1825 Portugal formally recognized Brazil as independent after Brazil won their war on independence in 1824.

The coin I'm sharing today I picked up a long time ago. Picture comes out of my older scans. I really don't have many Brazilian coins but this one is interesting in my opinion. It features Liberty on the obverse and the coat of arms of the reverse. But what I found most interesting in where it was minted, in Berlin, Germany. I'm not sure why they minted them there on this occasion, but I thought it was interesting!

Anyway here's the coin:

image.png

image.png

About the coin:
Country: Brazil
Mint: Berlin, Germany (seen as A on the bottom of the reverse)
Year: 1913
Denomination: 500 Reis
Composition: 90% silver
Diameter: 22 mm
Weight: 5 grams
Thickness: 1.6 mm
Edge: Reeded
Demonetized: yes
Obverse: Liberty with lettering REPUBLICA DOS ESTADOS UNIDOS DO BRAZIL (Republic of the United States of Brazil)
Reverse: Arms of Brazil with denomination and lettering ORDEM E PROGRESSO (Order and Progress), on the ribbon it should say: ESTADOS UNIDOS DO BRAZIL 15 DE NOVEMBRO DE 1889 (United States of Brazil, November 15, 1889

While not the prettiest coin I own it's an interesting coin with a nice design. The 90 percent silver makes it great for stacking and collecting, but I'm not sure what kind of premiums these carry these day. Please feel free to ask any questions or comments below and thanks for stopping by!

References:
Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil
Numista
https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces14153.html

image.png

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! The people who re-blogged were: @blitzzzz @dfreitesp @florakese @geneeverett @ladymisa @matthew1 @olaf.gui @ruffatotmeee @tengolotodo @vaynard86

@kerrislravenhill and @damoclesart thank you so much for your re-blog I really appreciated it, but they were after my new post was published so I couldn't fairly add you onto this give away, but you can try again on this new post!

Thanks everyone! It really helps my engagement which I'm working hard to improve! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know.

And the Wheel of Names results:

Screenshot (330).png

I just sent over the funds for your 3 HBI units!

Screenshot (332).png

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. Bots aren't allowed to enter please. Contest ends when I publish my next post which should be tomorrow. If I somehow missed you please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

Good luck to everyone!

What are HBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

image.png

Sort:  

What I always enjoy about these coins is that even considering they are over a century old, there is still so much detail maintained on the back even though you can see that it had a fair share of use in its time.

This one you definitely can although it's had it's fair share of use and abuse. Some get used to the point you can barely see the design, but those just make me wonder about all the people who have held and used the coin over the last 100 years!

I find that so cool to think about. How many transactions that coin paid towards in a hundred years, enriched people somehow. How they earned it and where it travelled. If coins could tell stories, that would be so epic.

It is an interesting coin but above all it is an interesting story. I'm going to investigate a bit why it was coined in Germany.
!HUG

Dear @thebighigg, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @florakese.
(1/3)

That I never figured out because prior to that coins were produced in Rio. I know much less about Brazilian history than the Spanish speaking countries mostly because I speak Spanish!

nice silver coin.
I am most on Malaysia coin.
hope I can win this lucky draw.

I like silver no matter where it's from! You've shown some cool coins too! Good luck on the draw today!

Sweet silver, I have different silver Brazilian 500 Reis somewhere in my stack, one of these days I'll find it.

I really collect less Brazilian mainly because I don't speak Portuguese honestly. I speak English and Spanish, and that's about it!

It's good to meet you, (you upvoted one of my posts because I turned 2 years old in Hive) I'm from Argentina, and I also collect coins, I have some from Brazil but not the one you show. I have my catalog uploaded on uCoin.net if you want come see it my username is marsupia

I'll have to take a look! I try to share a few a week generally, some nicer than others. Argentina is such a pretty place, it's been a few years since I was there last though!

nice !lolz

My house-mate is terrified of negative numbers
He'll stop at nothing to avoid them.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of memess.fun

(2/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

You received an upvote of 9.1% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thanks ssg-community

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @thebighigg! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@thebighigg has 14 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Congratulations @thebighigg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 9000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2

Thank you!

You've got this @thebighigg! Keep putting in the effort and you'll reach your target in no time.

BTW, the HiveBuzz project needs your support! Help us continue bringing gamification, entertainment, and fun to the Hive blockchain. Check out our funding proposal and consider supporting us!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

That's an interesting design looks like it should be a lot older style wise

That is very interesting... why would they mint a Brazilian coin in Berlin? Perhaps they were sourcing silver blanks at the time.........🤔

That's a cool old coin you have.
Suriname is another odd ball Country in South America
they speak Dutch there.

I like the obverse and reverse of that coin!

The coin looks good
And it is also valuable
Good one!

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.