You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If We're in a Simulation, Could Studying Morality and A.I. Improve Your Life?

in #simulation6 years ago

I hear many successful, intelligent people talking about the very serious concerns surrounding the development of super intelligence and the moral restraints it needs. Could it be they are being rewarded by the simulation?

I think I understand what you are saying - that individuals who study morality and AI are being rewarded with intelligence and success. I think its an interesting concept to ponder when considering the simulation hypothesis that you are talking about.

I'm not sure I understand the causal relationship between the two though. For instance, are the individuals being rewarded with success and intelligence because they are evaluating those systems or are they evaluating those systems because they are intelligent?

Regardless, its still an interesting concept to play around with. I like the idea of

the value function for this simulation has been set to something like "Reward those who figure out how we're going to program morality into the super intelligent systems we're building."

Sort:  

Yeah, the rewards for studying AI part would be if we went with the idea that the very purpose of this simulation (being the cebtury most likely to creat super intelligence) is to figure this stuff out without destroying ourselves in the process.

Heh. From that perspective, maybe nuclear weapons were added to the simulation to give us an existential threat to think about.

ok I see.
Yeah, I suppose you could look at any global issue in the same way, not just man made issues but also environmental (global warming), biological (population, virus)...etc.