You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If We're in a Simulation, Could Studying Morality and A.I. Improve Your Life?

in #simulation6 years ago

Definitely enjoyed the video you shared at the end. Made everything feel a bit more digestible -- Simulation theory is a pretty heavy idea. I don't know if I buy it. Any time I see something that suggests that "right now is likely the most important time in human history", I tend to have some warning bells go off.

That being said -- it's hard to ignore the leaps and bounds that are being achieved in artificial intelligence, machine learning, and the way we interface with computer systems. I feel like it's definitely a more tangible theory than many religions tend to offer, but I don't personally find it that much more compelling -- due to the unfalsifiability (which may say more about our inability to test and prod, rather than the theory itself -- but who knows).

To the question you pose -- I think that on many levels, studying morality can improve anyones life, and it's a great idea. In terms of studying AI, I think it's less obvious in how it can improve ones life, but in my line of work (civil engineer) I feel like it's almost certainly going to start affecting the work that I and others in my field do, in terms of project designs -- and getting ahead of the curve on this one would do leaps and bounds to improve my life. While the whole "deep-fakes" thing sweeping the internet might not be the greatest example to draw from, it's pretty illustrative in the quantity and quality of work that can be achieved through relatively simple machine learning processes -- and I would imagine that we're going to see this technology explode into just about every industry in the next 5~10years.

Thanks for sharing -- definitely a lot to think about, and it got me going.

Sort:  

I love to hear my ramblings get people thinking. :)