You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Don't Believe in the Singularity.

in #singularity8 years ago (edited)

I did not mean to attack you personally.
Physicalism is not self evident,and there are many versions of physicalism each with their own problems.
Here is one reference to read up on the subject:
http://consc.net/papers/facing.html
And there is no interaction probblem if you are not a dualist.
I am not a dualist.
And I do not deny the existence of other people, I am not a solipsist. I don´t deny the existence of matter either.
I do deny that "we´re made of matter" because my consciousness is not made of matter,and my consciousness is what makes me a person. To have consciousness is to experience.
There is nothing in the description of physical reality that accounts for the existence of consciousness.
Claiming otherwise is not based on facts, but on dogmatic belief.