Brush pen Drawing : Bird Series

in #sketchnation6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys!

As you all know, I am more into line art, like cross hatch, hatch, scratching and etc. So last year I decided to try out new technique using brush pen for the first time. Before this, I'm just using my regular pen which are unipin pen and micron pen. Both of these are my favorite one. The current brush pen that I've been using right now is Pentel pocket brush pen. The first brush pens that I had were from Pilot and Tombow. So far, this pen has been my favorite. The tip is not stiff and it is much easier to handle too.

IMG_20180202_101326[1].jpg

For the first time using this brush pen, I don't really have the idea how to use it or to control it. Then, I think maybe I can start learning it by drawing animal series first. Besides, I am an animal enthusiastic, so I started with bird series. So I google some reference and tips on how to control the lines. It took my quite a while to learned this actually. What featured here is some of my scribble in brush pen journey.

IMG_20180202_101404[1].jpg

I'm still learning the stroke but here are some tips that i learned to draw in ink. You can either use a pen, nibs, or ink. I like using my current brush pen which is waterproof when dry, so I can paint over it and the ink won’t run. Only pull or drag a nib to make marks, pushing will cause splatters and ruin your work. Also, slight change in pressure will change the thickness of your lines. So be careful when controlling your pressure in your stroke.

IMG_20180202_101342[1].jpg

Remind yourself that it is okay to make mistakes sometimes. Trust me, even me, myself felt frustrate when my drawing ruined due to one silly mistakes but art should be fun. Every journey every making is fraught with mistakes and missteps and that’s totally okay and normal. Each line serves a greater whole and leads to your final image and if you make a mistake, chill out and move on and sometimes it might not even be noticeable in the end so enjoy the journey and you will get better slowly. :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @mssyahirah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice ! This will be great for my 7 year old. She loves art.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.creativebloq.com/features/10-pen-and-ink-drawing-techniques-and-tips

Thanks for sharing. Nice video!