Sleep's getting better

in #sleep2 months ago

While I haven't been walking except for some casual walks out downtown, I have improved my sleep quite a bit.

First, let's get underway with the fail of continuing to walk.

image.png

Quite stationary most of that week, only one walk for the sake of walking with a higher pace that I already posted about. Even though I mentioned in my last post that I'll definitely go for a walk that evening, I didn't. Something always comes along.

The thing I'm quite happy with, though, has been my sleep. I've noticed quite some improvements in my energy levels throughout the day as well. For the past week I've been able to go to sleep around 10-11pm and wake up around 8. Some days I even slept in too long and I had to ask @hiddenblade to wake me up a bit earlier so I wouldn't oversleep which would probably reflect negatively on my energy levels, at least in terms of brain activity. (don't quote me on that)

I guess my more regular posting has also shown that I've had more energy lately, before this there were periods I wouldn't post for weeks at a time if not months, then a few sprints of many posts in a row and then back to nothing. It's especially weird considering I'm a "full-time" hiver, so to speak, but there's definitely been tons of things to do on the side even if I'm not actively posting or engaging as much as I'd like on my posts and other hivers I read.

Most of that time has been spent on @holozing of course. A lot is happening there at the moment, feels like things were moving a bit slow for a while with things being out of my control and just waiting around for artists to finish on some set pieces we needed and now it's 3 things at once getting done. A lot of respect to our "hive" devs @asgarth and @rishi556 who've been doing some great work behind the scenes and at times even tackled things I assume they haven't done before.

It feels like this is the calm before the storm and I can't wait to hear the reactions of people buying and opening up our Holozing Alpha Vials and sooner rather than later also test the open alpha. Exciting times.

But okay, this post was going to be about my health and exercise or lack thereof. Well, one thing I vowed to myself when I joined this chain was to stay true and do things the right way, so here I am acknowledging that it hasn't gone as well as it could and there's no one else to blame than myself. There's always excuses but in reality it really shouldn't be that difficult to put on some training shoes, go walk for 15-30mins and hit the shower real quick, but I'm a master at finding the excuses not to do them. I guess the good thing is that my sleep has improved to a point where I don't just uselessly procrastinate on things I should get done in terms of hive and my other projects on here, there's been periods of that too when my sleep was at its worst, which of course I also had an excuse to keep it that way at the time (important people I work with are on a different time-zone so I should adapt to that).

Oh well, maybe guilt will finally get me walking again here soon. :p

Until next post, let's see if I did go for those walks or nah.

PS. I did install @actifit and looked around a little the other day. Seems nice but the design could use a rework.

Sort:  

Nice one man, take it one day at a time and build yourself up to longer walks. During the lockdown here in Ireland I put on a fair bit of weight but I'm glad that I've started to shed a bit of that. I had some pretty bad anxiety so wouldn't go out much, but starting off slowly I was able to build it up. I still have reletively inactive days, but that's normal. Swimming was good for me too.

I read one of your posts a while back and you mentioned that your shins were kind of hurting you, is that getting better?

Good to hear you're getting to sleep at a decent time, 10-11 is great. My sleep patern is typically all over the place but this year I've really gotten it good because of the baby mainly.

is that getting better?

Yea that pain subsided but will definitely come back next time I walk, this time though hopefully not as much.

Are there many hills where you walk? My hometown is all hills, and I tend to get a bit of a tight burning feeling sometimes from walking.

Yeah not hills per se but it's quite up and down on almost every road, not too much elevation, I guess the highest was something like 20 degrees.

Ahh fair enough. One thing that kind of helped me was getting a good pair of trainers with arch support. I live in boots or DCs and they're both pretty flat, and I noticed a big difference after switching.

Have you tried taking naps when you do not get quite enough sleep? They have helped me a lot over the years.

Also maybe try setting your walking shoes (and attire) where you will constantly see them. Then it is just a matter of slipping them on and getting out the door.

Glad to hear about the rest doing you well. It makes a massive difference in so many ways when the circadian rhythms are consistent.

I have a hard time falling asleep, that's why naps aren't a good idea as they'd make that even harder.

That makes sense and sometimes they do that to me also.

Sleep is one of the best things to get your health in order, it's one of the things I have always had a hard time with too. Keep up the walks, you will feel so much better. I've been walking almost every day since the wife and I moved back to Europe and it's been great. I'm also gonna join a gym near our house in March so that will be some extra motivation to get my butt in gear and lose the belly.

I've been using Actifit for years but it hasn't motivated me to get off my bum and walk every day. For some of us it's a real challenge to get moving.

I've made it a little easier for myself by treating myself to a coffee every afternoon so it's easier to go out and walk for that. Even then I don't always make the 5000 minimum for Actifit. Today for example it was too windy to be pleasant so I took the short route which means I've only done 4131 steps so far to day.

I find setting an alarm and getting up from my chair every 45 minutes helps with the step count too but I often forget to do it.

I need to get walking too, just sitting the whole day at one place and then sitting and the next place, always just sitting.

But I'm mentally telling myself, that I'm just waiting for warmer days to start going for daily walks :)
(Right now here is 0 degrees celsius).

I found out the other day that I have to go in for a sleep study, so that should be a ton of fun. I guess be happy you don't have to do that? I get up at least once in the night because our elderly dog needs to go out. Meanwhile, we just bought a treadmill and that has been kicking my butt!

You can try stretching and maybe jog in place when you have little time available. Walking and running can usually eat up a lot of time which makes people hesitant to do it. If you can do alternatives, that can help you still get some exercise in on a tight schedule.

I spend most of the time checking on my farm. That helps me to stay fit. Though I want to rather sleep early (around 8pm) and wake up early (about 3am)

It's good you are paying a close attention to your health and you are seeing improvements. And also making time for the Holozing project. I wish you a happy weekend. Thanks for writing.

Grab the latest podcast from The Peoples Guild and you'll easily hit that walking target, it's a great interview with Dwyane Cunningham

For the past week I've been able to go to sleep around 10-11pm and wake up around 8.

I envy you for that.

If you have no time to walk, get a standing deck and a chair with active sitting. Very good for health.

It is actually good to see that the work to stay fit is getting fit and that is great to see. It is necessary to pay a close attention to one's health

Until next post, let's see if I did go for those walks or nah.

stay strong. just do it. put it in your schedule. get up at 5am and get it done O.O. join the 5 am club

Excellent, that you are doing everything possible to feel good, it is never too late to have health habits, greetings and take good care of yourself

!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Glad to see and hear that you are giving much attention to your health as that is very necessary also. Health is wealth