Can A Breathing Exercise Help You Fall Asleep Faster?

in #sleep6 years ago

I used to have a lot of trouble falling asleep.

It wasn’t even in a terrible way, I just had a very excitable and busy mind that would race around endlessly from thought to thought stopping me from falling asleep.

dog-647528_1280.jpg

I’d always been a casual meditation practitioner enjoying mindfulness breathing techniques and exercises so I knew of a lot of the benefits, but I wanted to find out if there was a way I could use it to settle my mind and help me fall asleep.

That’s when I discovered the 4-7-8 breathing technique.

It’s a surprisingly simple breathing exercise that can help you fall asleep in under 60 seconds. So I was of course intrigued but dubious, so I tried it out that night, I was in bed for about 10 minutes then tried it and voilà, I was out like a light.

I’ve used it since and I seem to have a success rate of about 25% for falling asleep straight away. Which is pretty good for a breathing exercise! But even if I don’t fall asleep it helps me calm down so I can fall asleep normally.

How does it work I hear you ask?

Well I’ve made an infographic showing you exactly how to use it. Check it out below!

4-7-8-Breathing.jpg

Quick summary, you place the tip of your tongue behind the teeth, breathe in quietly through the nose for 4 seconds, hold it for 7 seconds, then blow air, quite forcefully,out through the mouth for 8 seconds.

Repeat that 4 times then breathe normally.

It’s also good for quickly relaxing you and helping to deal with anxiety throughout the day, if you’re feeling overwhelmed you can use it to de-stress and come back to the present.

I highly recommend trying if there is ever a time when you can’t sleep, you might end up as surprised as I was!