Should I pay for upvotes?... Read this first

in #slothicorn6 years ago
Sharks pretending to be nice whales

There are a few things to consider before paying for an upvote.

A friend once asked me what I thought about paying for upvotes, the answer wouldn't be short, I didn't have time at that moment to answer, I had already created the animation for this post but... until now I can give an answer based in my experience...

The cost/benefit

Are you gonna pay .5SBD or so for a random upvote? You don't even know how much you will get. I wouldn't take the risk. Remember that 1SBD is more than $1, actually right now it is $4,65 USD according to coinmarketcap.com. Do some math before paying something.

Remember a $2 upvote is not exactly $2, after curation rewards you may get 75% of that, so it would be $1.5; right now you would get 0.325 STEEM if your post is 100% power up from that upvote; or 0.162 STEEM and 0.75SBD if it is 50%/50%. (If I am wrong please let me know how to do the math correctly)

It could be a scam

I saw a post a while ago reporting a guy who was spamming all around with coments like: "Pay me 1SBD and I give you 100% Upvote"; a 100% upvote sounds cool, but, this scammer had like 100SP, and his 100% was worth kind of nothing compared to 1SBD.

How to know this? just go to https://steemnow.com/ and type the username of anyone you want to know how much their 100% (or any percent) upvote is.

And the most important thing...

Is my post worth it?

Yesterday I saw an incredibly sh*tty post with $28... I checked the guy's wallet to see if he was a whale selfvoting, but nope, he was actually paying several vote-bots.

The worst part is when someone new to the platform who has no idea of voting-bots sees this. What will they think?
And if you aren't new but are making a big effor to create awesome content and get a few cents and this guys are making a fortune... That hurts the community.

Do what is good for the community and you will get what is good for you

Or in other words, if you do something that harms the community, that will affect you too. As I said before, STEEM is $4,61 right now according to coinmarketcap.com; hurting the community hurts STEEM; and that hurts us all. If STEEM prize goes down, all our upvotes are worth less, and if it goes up, our votes worth more. So simple.

Happy Steeming!



Sharks pretending to be nice whales are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Yeah. You are right. I was discussing or sharing my thoughts with @hitmeasap and I told him I would create a content and even make less than 1SBD, I felt bad tho.

A friend of mind recently used an upvote not and I asked her how much she invested and she said about $8. The post did well tho. It made about $40 for her, about $13 went to curation, then left with $27, and based on 50-50% sharing, she got about 13SBD, and then if u take out the 8SBD she invested, she would be left with 5SBD. Fine she made profit you might want to say, But this things and some other actions needs to stop.

Quality content should be rewarded.
You see somebody just posting a picture or just a sentence and it would rake in over $100, and somebody that spent hours drafting an article makes less than 1SBD. It should be addressed. It doesn't tell well of the community, it doesn't encourage Newbies as well.

Let's learn to do things rightly or our competitors would prey on our lapses and that might lead to an imminent collapse.

Thanks for raising this sensitive issue @fabiyamada, I hope those in charge gets to look into this and do the necessary review or modifications.

It doesn't tell well of the community, it doesn't encourage Newbies as well.

That is the main problem :(
The only thing I think to solve it is to discourage people from buying, so there is no people selling upvotes, kill the business. But that is not likely to happen... A more aggressive way would be downvoting... I don't know :s These are just ideas...

yeah. thats why i kinda ask myself what is really the aim of this community? is it to make the crypto currency more popular or to build a social network that encourages the entrance of new people?

facebook has millions of users worldwide, we havent really reached tens of millions and we are making this flaws? smh

seems like we have to expect bad things when money is involved :(

Couldn't agree more with you @fabiyamada! Especially this line:

And if you aren't new but are making a big effor to create awesome content and get a few cents and this guys are making a fortune... That hurts the community.

It is such a big discouragement to see people abuse bots while there are others here who consistently put out better content and are struggling to earn and get visibility.

Upvoted and resteemed!

yes, abusing is a big problem :s If only whales did manual curation or delegated some SP if they are not gonna use it...

I have thoroughly investigated and tested buying upvotes from offers that were available at the time. I found that, although I received the promised upvotes, at the end of my three-week investigation, I had broken even. I earnt just enough to pay for my next upvotes each week.
Now I just post frequently, try for quality posts and hope they will be upvoted by my followers. At least that way I'm not into a mug's game. Good post :)

That is the best way to go!

Its tough though. When you are starting out and earning 5c per post nobody will look at you. If your post is worth 20 dollars and has a few votes then it is more likely to attract viewers.
I do use the bots to an extent as i find it gives me a lot more visabilty. Not for huge amounts but just to get them started and i do put in the time to create good content.
As you said what i hate to see is the people earning hundreds on memes from selfvoting and bots. I find that far more hurtful to the community.

Those services must be used with prudence or no used at all. If your content is great there's no shame on buying a boost, just make sure it is a good deal.

Well there's that one idiot that offers a "250% upvote for .3 sbd"... Only has 2750 or so SP. Can't stand that fool.

that must be magiic!

Elf magic... :(

or ratz pantz trickery

I just read somebody got scammed by paying for upvote! Ummm I believe that's cheating but a lot of japanese people said steemit is all about money, so just use the sbd smart. I don't fully agree with them tho.... we should keep out best to write quality content :)

Exactly! As I always say: do your best and the best will come!n.n

Tienes toda la razón. Yo personalmente no pagaría por un voto que se supone lo debería obtener gratís. Claro está, que algunos usan el sistema como un negocio y otros simplemente para ayudar y con los sbd recaudados hacer power y seguir generando recompensas (como es el caso de @delega).

Sip, para ayudar a la comunidad tiene que ser voto manual :) ese plan me parece genial!

thanks for informative post.. i also thing about that because one om my friend told me you pay 1 SBD they wll give u vote.. but when i calculate his vote.. its totally making fool peoples.

Exactly, :s that is terrible! oh man, I hope you are working on that reputation...

Me too, it looks like the Bernie got him.

I paid like 2 times for one vote and after 7 days I did not even get back what I paid. :(

oh no! that was an scam! :(

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Resteemit done dear..

did you read?

I was going to flag this man until I realized my flagness is almost unexistent.

Thank you for sharing your good friends information, you are very good

It's good you write about this topic, I have a lot to share about it but I will not. Owners of these upvoting bots sometimes flag posts that are written against their business, so!

You are talking about shitty posts, I will DM you one account who isn't contributing anything, like not a drop of contribution towards this platform and his posts normally cross $100. Thanks to bots again!

Remember that 1SBD is more than $1, actually right now it is $4,65 USD according to coinmarketcap.com.

It should be 4.65, right?

SBD is supossed to be $1, let's take advantage while it isn't

it was supposedly 1$ maam but today cryptocurrency gained a lot of exposure and media. The people flocks to buy crypto coins because of FOMO. I beleive SBD would continually rise :)

You should check what witnesses and whales are saying about SBD prize, they can (and they probably will) force it to $1 again.