🎨 πŸ”΄ Red portrait / watercolor painting

in #slothicorn β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

Once I heard one painter saying that if you want to sell painting easier, put some red color in it :)
Not sure if it works since I am ''blue color'' person. Blues go as well, I don't complain..But ok, red is red..
It explodes in front of our eyes, it seduces, it's color of love and passion, marked in our mind and body.
So no surprise people get hooked with it.



IMG_1453.jpg



Tried out some new paper, again :) It's HahneMuhler again but Bamboo 300 gr, smooth surface.
Very well for usage of watercolor with higher amount of water.
Simple pencil sketch was done, and right after it watered lower part with wide brush . On such watered surface applied strong spots of color. And than bend slightly surface, that color can melt.




IMG_1447.jpg

Same process applied on upper part with head crown.



IMG_1448.jpg



On close up you can see how much water and color is there. Also, while parts are still wet, with small drops another color is mixed into previous one.



IMG_1450.jpg



And here is image well dried, detail of it



IMG_1452.jpg



Another close up



IMG_1454.jpg



And whole piece at last .
You can see how color is stronger on edges, since water drops are making middle more transparent. That's the beauty of this process.



IMG_1451.jpg

Also, been thinking about empty space surrounding portrait and thinking of adding some background. But at the end decided to leave it like this. I was frightened that background will be too much with this red spots and will eat image.



So, next one is coming soon, and hope you found this new one interesting .

Sort: Β 

Another lovely portrait. I really like how you've 'trapped' the fluidity of the watercolour in her hair/headpiece. It has the feel of daydreams being viewed by we the viewer that she the subject is currently enganged in.

I like red in pieces, and come to think of it, I suppose I do use it often. I also love cool blue hues as well, so the hot and cold of these colours can live very happily on the same page and it does add another level of feeling to it, doesn't it?

Agree @donnadavisart, this wouldn't be so good without some blue colors added. It's like I am not able to ''feel'' painting if there is no blue or green in it.
Thank you :)

your watercolors are always so lush and delicate! I always love seeing how you layer each color just enough to define the the shape and the emotion.

Interesting to hear about the red and the marketability of it... I never thought of it this way, but now thinking of many of the galleries i've visited in the past, and i can easily recall a lot of reds... I'm also a heavy blue user :D

Yes @ankapolo, it's so interesting noticing how people are more attracted with those warm tones, specially with red color. I believe it's true what that painter said to me long time ago, since I just posted another one also with red detail on Fb, and just several minutes after had price enquiring. Crazy :) And I am into blue and purples but I think it's more state of soul and mind.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This looks really good ! I love how the colors run together on her body!
i lov it.jpg

Thank you @agneslaczo, trying out some new staff, happy you like it :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

look wonderful...i love it my friend and sharing the painting processes is really considerable idea for the artist to wonder the progress...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day my friend...

Thank you @mnallica. Sharing process comes from idea it might help someone to try out in this also, or just to help in showing some ideas.

I'm a blue lover! I think red always give the fierce look in things. The woman in your art looks like "I'm amazing, deal with it" :)

Hahaha, @blacklux, never thought this woman would have that ''amazing'' moment, but if i think better, red is also connected with that kind of attitude. And sometimes is not so bad to have such attitude in life :)

beautiful ...an innocence look

Savrsena je... lady in red... my favorite color! :)

Hvala draga :) Ma crveno rules @matejka13, a tebi sigurno stoji savrseno.

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Wow! Very bright painting!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP