Behind the scenes! How I made this pendant.

in #slothicorn6 years ago
Hi Steemians.
Today I want to show you some of the processes behind making a pendant. This isn't a tutorial as I don't think I'm very good at explaining myself for that but more of a little peek into how the finished pieces come into creation.


So to begin with I started with some sketches. The last one is the one I settled on for this piece.

I picked out 3 stones for this piece originally but as I worked on it I dropped one of them and added a different one.

I wanted this pendant to include Quartz, Green Tourmaline and a raw Emerald. The Emerald ended up being dropped as its shape didn't fit the design.

So next I began creating a frame in heavy gauge wire, the benefit of having a to-scale sketch is this frame can be laid on top to get the shape exactly right. This technique is only really helpful at this early stage as once the piece becomes three dimensional you can't lay it over the sketch so well.

These early wires that define the shape were secured at the back permanently as it's important they don't move around during the rest of the wrap.

A super long coil I made, ready to be attached and shaped.

At this point, I'm still working on the 'skeleton' of the piece but already I've managed to secure the two important stones in their final positions leaving me free to focus on the aesthetics.

The coil on the right in this picture looks pretty standard but up close it actually changes from one wrap style to another, it's something I hadn't tried before but needs a bit more practice to get perfect.

The last few photos were me trying to cover up the Quartz and Tourmaline wrapped ends whilst keeping in with the original design.

Adding these copper beads was a good way to fill large empty spaces without building up too many wires unnecessarily.

I'm nearing finishing by this point. I've covered most of the structural and base wires so I thought I'd try out another recently learnt technique of stone setting using wire wrapping. I think the three copper beads at the top left work well as they break up all the rounded edges and give it that bio-mechanical feel.

The addition of these Jade beads was an experiment to begin with, I nearly got rid of them when I couldn't see them as anything other than eyes!

Instead of getting rid of them I just covered one up a bit so it's not so prominent in the final design.

This is pretty much finished here, I'm just tidying up all the loose ends on the back

This was just before the oxidisation process using liver of sulphur solution.

After oxidising I realised I wasn't happy with part of the design, you can guess which bit is added due to the gleaming copper!

And here's the finished pendant post oxidisation before being hand polished using wire wool and then a jewellers cloth.


Some nice close-ups of the finished piece for you


More photos!



Sort:  

This is amazing! So much nicer than most wire wraps I've seen!

You're definitely right about it looking biomechanical- it really reminds me of @haedre's art.

Thank you, I've always tried to create unique pieces, theres an odd thing in the wire wrapping world, a lot of it looks like the same person has made all of it, despite there being no single reference for learning. I already follow @haedre as i love his work! another artists work i'd love to somehow translate into wire is @gric. it would look stunning all 3D and touchable!

What a stunning pendant, whoever gets this is very lucky indeed!

thankyou. its actually not been sold yet, i need to write up an etsy listing

Whoever it's bought for will be very happy!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 182 (7/01/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Wow such a neat finishing. Feel so saturated already looking at the process. Wedone. Resteemed

WOW - cool worked - fascinating Art with Copper
resteemed

cheers, ive always favoured it over more precious metals, not so popular for sales unfortunately!

Thats a truly work of art - congratulations!

Hello, robali123, upvoted and resteemed! Reply with "STOP" to end this madness.

Want @ArtTurtle to follow you too and upvote and resteem your art, music, fashion, video and books? Find out how by visitng @artturtle and reading the latest report.

Another gorgeous pendant. I enjoyed seeing how it all came together. It's interesting to see an artist's thought process. It's also clear a lot of work goes into all the detail behind creating these.

thanks @choogirl. your regular support has been appreciated :)

Lol as I was reading this and looking at your amazing art, I was just thinking that this needs to be curied! When I saw 450ish upvotes, I knew it is curied. And it deserves to be!

I love when people use their creativity to create some art and you did a perfect job!

Ha yeh i was sat in bed when that happend, discord app on my phone was playing catch up for ages i had to turn it off! thanks for the support

@dipoabasch - featured you to the Pay it Forward Contest.

I've come to support, his selection! I'm amazed at the detail that you work into you pieces!

thanks :)

You're very welcome!

Hi robali123,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

woah my discord is going mental thanks to your curation trail ha i thought my phone had broken! thaaanks! :D

Thank you so much for sharing your creative process in making this pendant!

It was an awesome read especially for a non-artist like me who can appreciate when people are able to make things creatively.

Hi @robali123!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemmakers - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Congratulations @robali123! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh WOW, this looks absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for sharing the process with us 💚

Thanks so much for sharing the process to make this beautiful piece was very interesting to see :)

Wow! Looks like a Giger Alien space craft.

Ah i've always been a big fan of gigers work so thats a mega compliment thanks!

Hello,@robali123
Very very good post. I like it.i will try to make for pendant with your method.
If i can not make it i will contact you.
Thanks brother