My journey with learning Crypto

in #smart-contracts3 years ago (edited)

I am working on learning two major technologies in parallel. At least they are major to me, one being Azure Devops API and the other being Smart Contracts and the blockchain.

In regards to the cryptocurrency side of things, I will document how I started and where I am at now.
I went face first into the rabbit hole of Cryptocurrency land. I setup a account with Gemini Exchange and did the KYC . I just wanted in on the BTC and fast . I purchase about 200 USD of BTC and I was a happy camper.
image.png

Let's think about this for a second. I bought 200 USD when BTC was about 50k in value and the community was on fire. But then something happened. My 200.00 went down to 80.00 because the value of BTC drop to 20k. So I didn't fold , what I did was bought more along with ETH, Bitcoin cash and a few others. I also went a step further and bought a hardware wallet. (Ledger Nano X) . During the drop, I decided I wanted to learn how the value of coins/token were determine. I also wanted to know how transactions were confirmed and new blocks were created. So that's when I took the pill and went down the rabbit hole .

I realized that , You cant follow the hype of the bloggers and forums. You need to come up with a investment plan that works for you. As of today BTC is holding around $49,553.92. Which I am right back where I started, but I added more crypto to my portfolio between the drop and the increase. There's definitely some losses in there but my investment plan accounts for those losses .

I'm learning more about Smart Contracts and the blockchain by reading this book called "Hands-On Smart Contract Development with Solidity and Ethereum" by Kevin Solorio, Randall Kanna and David H. Hoover
image.png
I'll try to post updates as I get through the book. So far its a great read and It's been hard to put the book down. stay tuned..