Cairns, Australia

in #smart6 years ago (edited)

It's winter where I am and I find myself daydreaming about my most recent travels through Australia. It was warm and tropical in the north of Queensland. Arriving in Australia last January, after having already been on the road for six months, was like wrenching an already broken heart. As much as I love adventure and travel, there's this constant tinge of homesickness that is burrowed int he pit of my heart. Arriving in Oz instilled feelings of excitement and new beginnings, but also the feelings of dread and panic of being yet further away from my loving home of Montreal. A few months into my travels, I arrived in Cairns, and I was experiencing the most intense volatility of these emotional ups and downs of travelling.

My first photo shows the fresh, bright rooftop of where I was couchsurfing in Cairns: The beautiful appreciation of the opportuities and experiences that present themselves in travel; the happy times.IMG_20170315_235006.jpg

The second photo taken in the basement of the building where I stayed, in black and white, shows the bleak, empty, deeply buried feelings of being so far away from anything familiar or known.

Sort:  

I've traveled and lived away from home some myself, so I can relate to your feelings. Thankfully it's usually the good times that stand out in the end. I see you are new to Steemit and I would like to welcome you to the community. I have upvoted you and will follow you as well. Looking forward to more photos and script.

Oh! Thanks so much! Yeah, I'm just learning to navigate and explore this new platform. Thanks for the kind welcome :D