You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMT Development Update: Burn-Ups

Much of Hivemind has been complete for a while, so current focus is mainly on SMTs. Just because we are focusing on one aspect of the stack at a given moment in time does not mean we are abandoning another. Typically, work in one area just slows as it becomes apparent that more resources need to be allocated to another.

Sort:  

Oh, yeah I wasn't implying that work there had stopped. More just wondering how that development fits into the work on SMTs: for example if it's something that would roll out before, simultaneously with, or after the next major fork?

Because Hivemind is non-consensus it doesn't have to be scheduled in that manner. These two products work very well together, so it is our goal to get them out around the same time. But Hivemind doesn't require hardforks or even the participation of witnesses. It's just regular software. That also means it is less challenging to develop.

Got it! Thanks for the explanation @andrarchy :-)

Hey, @andrarchy.

Yes, thanks for this. I've been looking for an update of some kind on hivemind and communities, so it's nice to know what intentions are, and that it's less challenging to produce. I think there are many of us here who are as excited about the prospects of communities as much as we are SMTs, so just the idea of both of them coming out around the same time is morale boosting. :)

@glenalbrethsen hey I was literally about to tag you here but you beat me to reading it. 😂

That's funny, because I was thinking I should do the same, but then wasn't remembering exactly who it was I was having the conversation with, because I've spoken to quite a few people about this. :)

Glad you remembered you and I had one of those conversations at least.

I'd like him to do some clarifying though. Hopefully he'll see what I said and have time to reply.