How to make Smartphones even SMARTER!

in #smartphone7 years ago (edited)

Proposal To: Samsung, Apple, Google and Microsoft
should add New Chips and an I.R. LED to Smartphones!

Why not include just 1 or 2 more radio chips? Not
for mobile data, not for WiFi and not for bluetooth
but an additional chip/radio for the reception
of broadcast T.V. and/or radio. Maybe that can be
done on one more chip.

Imagine how pleased buyers and users of your
smartphone will be when they can receive and
tune in to broadcast TV, including digital
sub-channels or broadcast radio.

Some of these new frequencies for radio or
television will be received in HD or high
definition. I know about internet feeds and
PODcasts, but those require mobile data or Wi
Fi.

Transmitting on these tv or radio frequencies
should be disabled unless the particular phone is
licensed by the FCC, TV or broadcast radio
station allowed to broadcast on those frequencies.

Smart phones can certainly be built to be smarter.

Another improvement could be adding one or more
infrared or I.R. LED's so that we can bring up a
dialpad, select I.R. and then change the channel
on a TV, radio or change a ceiling-fan setting or
whatever the I.R. remote device requires as a
signal/input. Whether it's one or two LED emitters,
a smart phone isn't much thicker than an LED.

To some people I have talked with, they would use
features I just mentioned. If I could copyright,
patent or trademark these I would, in one second.

Does anybody reading this have additional ideas
for improving the smatphone? Or to make smart phones
better?

Help make a smartphone HUM...
Leave a comment!

Sort:  

I need iPhone 8. I can't wait for that!

Iphone 8... Does Iphone 8 have something better like better or more sensors ? I think, more sensors is or will be better. Sensors. Get the info. We can use.

Question: Why do you need IPhone 8?

Good question ... Exactly why do we need an iphone or any eight version phone....

Wait. It gets better .

It's not a so-good idea to add TV reception, because in some countries, users will have to pay a tax for this capacity !
And not only one time (while buying the smartphone) but every year...

Banania, thank you for the reminder...!

There is a trade-off. Or trade offs.

People think that U.S. citizens are actually FREE. Yes. Right. Explain freedom and reconcile that!

Banania, thank you reminding me of that.... I had heard many years ago about. Vans driving through the British empire with antennas that detected televisions. I had thought that it was one of those myths. It sounds like you are confirming it.

Sorry to hear about that.

Actually, some phones have these functions. In 3rd world countries, TV reception is incredibly popular on cell phones. As to the IR led, the original galaxy s5 (not the new edition) comes with an IR and an app that helps configure frequencies for the remotes of different devices. I have an original s5 and can control almost any device that comes with a remote (tv, air conditioners, etc)... its awesome!

Drnano, I dont believe 3rd world countries have that capability.
I thought it was entertaining. Now I am rethinking that.

Seems like you have a sense of humor.

;P

But I once went to radio shack and bought a package of those ir diodes cheaply. THEY WERE ALSO small or thin. 1 volt maybe.

I also bought from radio shack some ir receiver modules. Unfortunately 1 per pack. But radio shacks small and simple breadboards are just enough to experiment with these things

Try using a a radio, youll have to tune through the frequencies and hold any ir remote close to it, but you can hear the output of your II remote through the radio. IR or infrared are radio frequencies as well as light. You can even record them and sometime play them back, using a resistor to cut down voltage from the radio speaker to a cheap IR LED.

Call me me crazy, if you wish, but I would would challenge you to find a physicist or radio expert on steemit or elswhere to prove that it is NOT possible!!!

DrNano, Hi, how are you?

Could you please find a physicist or radio expert, here on SteemIt.com to evaluate something for the both of us?

@drnano

Just to verify your claim that at least one 3rd world or developing country can watch broadcast T.V. on their smartphone.

Please give details that can be verified!

That was what I was talking about when you said it already available.

Please give more details as to which third world countries. have radio chips in them that receive broadcast tv like similar radio chips send and receive blue tooth, wifi, and mobile data.

Why do you keep me waiting? Thats ok to keep me waiting, It just looks like you are fantasizing or dont have a truthful answer or proof. That's O.K., But please back it up in the future.

Even if it take more time to study, I love the example, backup info or reference when it is asked for.

I asked nicely. Can you respond nicely with the names of those countries that have radio chips, like the others, but for a T.V. broadcast frequencies.

Sorry. I just realised that you may have completely misunderstood the concept , now that T.V. is rebroadcasted over the internet digitally instead of broadcast radio RF.

My apologies, if so.

Congratulations @yesiknow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Such a nice and graphically pleasant award.
Thank you, and thanx a bunch!

This SteemIt is so much fun.

love your post. nice tips

Thank you! :D

good useful post

Useful? Thank you! It may take a while to really be useful in a big way.