Smartphone Photography - Spring Has Sprung in Central Park, New York City

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello there Steemians!

It's true! I get kinda obsessed about the weather this time of year! So I feel particularly excited to tell you that yesterday and the day before we were treated to not one but two 70 degree days in a row here in New York City! Okay those of you who live in warmer climes might be saying - hey what's the big deal! But those of you who live in areas with long cold winters certainly know that springtime is definitely something to shout out about! So it was no surprise when we left the apartment that we were met with a wild crush. It seemed as if everyone was outside for the happy reprieve from the cold and the warmth and sunshine I'm pretty certain made everyone feel like I do - that we all hit the jackpot, it's just that marvelous!

I walked around Central Park at 81st street which leads to one of my favorite areas within the park - it's chock-full of sights! I was with my cousin who is a television presenter and then my husband caught up with us for the tail end of our lovely sojourn. We went to the Shakespeare garden which has an amazing view of one of Central Park's finest apartment buildings called The Beresford - it looks a bit like a castle itself - and lots of blooming spring flowers! It is situated behind the Shakespeare theater near Belvedere Castle. Yup, there's a real castle in Central Park! No one lives in it though - it was however designed by Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux who designed Central Park. It was built in 1919 as a folly, but it's also been the Central Park weather station and overlooks Turtle pond, (yes, there are real turtles in NYC) and The Great Lawn where many people sunbath or play baseball, I used to do both. Now I just wander around taking pictures always amazed at how Central Park is this great nature resource for the city.

We walked up to my neighborhood and the Jackie Kennedy Onassis Reservoir, because it famously boasts cherry trees that blossom in April. The reservoir is where I normally run, it was renamed for her in honor of all the work she did to change Central Park from the rather dumpy place it was in the 70's and 80's into the beauty it is today and because she used to run there herself. In fact, I often saw her decked out in her signature oversized sunglasses and slacks which, as a kid, struck me as a very elegant way to exercise. The track is 1.5 miles around and it has some lovely views of the city around it which I've posted her on Steemit quite often. That's because it never gets dull for me and I hope the same goes for you! Every season offers a new type of beauty and now that it's spring the pink Yoshino Cherry blossoms are in full swing - it is ON!

So without further - Spring Has Sprung in Central Park, NYC



HipstamaticPhoto-545433651.690606.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433725.181366.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433706.490416.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433459.606226.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433422.566324.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433003.248245.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545432808.331306.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545432984.942881.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545432856.057232.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433861.962095.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545432916.927073.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545432948.854293.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-545433079.201866.jpg

And finally! A shot of me! Worshipping the Sun and the arrival of Spring!

tempImageForSave.jpg



Hope you enjoyed this post. To check out my previous posts or to follow me, please click here.

Thank you!

Sort:  

@ilanaakoundi,
You sense the beauty of common scenery! I mean when we go to a park we can see those scene, but we can't understand great photography hidden inside them!
Fantastic photography my dear friend! The Spring and the beauty + people who enjoy their leisure times, you took into great photography!

Cheers~

Beautiful photography

Really wonderful photography and last photo you looking very nice. This photo is best of all photo
tempImageForSave.jpg
Thanks for sharing with us.
Have a greet day

Awwww thank you very much! Happy to see you here! :D

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:56:44
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 322.89/400.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 106
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow very nice photo

Thanks very much! :D

First, I was about to say this

hey, what's the big deal!

Cause over here it's normal, but I get it that to some people this is something worth celebrating.

Springs always comes with blessings to me. The sight of those greens leaves and flowers coming up reminds me that anything dry in this life can get back to life. Thanks for sharing those captivating photos, they are awesome.

Hehe, thank you for stopping by! You made me smile and I had the pleasure of popping over to your blog and reading a lovely piece of fiction and a poem. I also found out that springtime is your birthday, so happy birthday from NYC! :D

I'm so glad to see your signature on my blog. Spring brings life to earth, you brought life to my blog today. I'm grateful.

Likewise James!

wow very nice photography

Thank you! :D

wonderful pictures my friend...Spring has just came and there are a lot of flowers,bees and pollen... :) there is spring weather in Turkey too nowadays..It is really hot and everywhere is too chirpy... meanwhile i like the picture with the huge historical building more,amongst trees....

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day my friend....

Ah! So you know what I mean when the earth comes alive after her sleep! I'll pop over to your blog to see what you've been up to! As always, so nice to see you! A lovely day to you as well, dear! xo

How are you #iliaana ? Wonderful Pictures fabulous all photographs of the spring season, there is also spring start and everything is beautiful here and there. Awesome place Central Park for walking..

Hey there Sana! Nice to see you! I'm pretty happy that winter is behind us! I hope you are well?

Yup! i'm doing well and enjoy the happy life with cousins family

wow very excellent photo

You shared a lot of photos.Really amazing photoshoot.

Thank you! :D

I mostly like spring flowers.The photos are amazing

Me too! Flowers are so hopeful! Thank you!

The pictures convey one's thoughts and feelings. Images can also be interpreted as symbols. Images can be sent no matter what the maker feels. We can see how a person passes the image he made. And it's all in the picture you post.

Quite true! Appreciate the comments and you stopping by! :D

It's a nice and peacefull place

They enjoy spring very much, do not they? Here we are already tired of the heat, we would like a little cold haha. Greetings Ilana, your photos are always very nice. The last one where you appear was really amazing with the tree and the balloons behind.

Hahaaa, it seems the grass is always greener on the other side, right? So nice to see you Jose! Thanks! I was pretty happy to celebrate! :D

I think so😂. Have an excellent day Ilana!🙌

What a nice, and every photos are beautiful.

Wooow!!!

Very beautiful to enjoy. You are photographing with an incredible ability. Very cool my friend.

Thanks for sharing the beauty 👌
Have a wonderful day!

Amazing photography mam. Please check my post

Really you are great photographer
How are you @ilanaakoundi

wonderful photography, please check my new post

Very nice. It is still snowing here in Canada .... eastern Ontario north of New York

Cute post! Congratulations @ilanaakoundi!

Oh my gosh these have to my favourite's of yours so far!! I love the cherry blossom so much, we are still waiting for it to come out here! This is just how I imagine New York to be and I am seeing it through your lens which is a real pleasure! The Beresford looks so interesting! Love the shot of you at the end too, exactly how we are going to feel when we get this weather too! We tend to get New York's weather a week or two after so fingers crossed! x

As always very beautiful photography Mam, you are looking so cute and happy in last one photo ☺ Enjoy your life! 💕

I live in a cold climate, at night we still have a minus temperature. Yes, you are right, when spring comes, we cry and rejoice )))
Your spring garden in pink tones is terrific, I so want to be there. Enjoy the spring! And thanks for the warmth in this post!

Great travel experience post. excelent photography....////

interesting post once again thanks for sharing your knowledge :)
this is really nice travel place

Amazing photography.thanks for the this blog.

Fantastic photography,,,
This is great publishing and great writing experience......./////

I love these cherry trees!!,
they look so fabulous and fairy tale

Beautiful photos ! Awesome shots my friend !!

owwww .... dear friend. so sweet and beautiful!
I love you! You're a sweet friend like spring. And you have taken great pictures. shining, bright and warm photos. photographs warms my soul.
congratulations to the excellent and successful squares. I want to see you around all the time. Share more for us! big kiss !

@ilanaakoundi, ha ha finally I found you first time with nice smile. :D

DQmUFtsBEkRjVNRNgpCsxPTanQYxqMRNYW94L4RvXFpTdSc_1680x8400.jpg

Deeply touch my heart via your attractive photo clicks. You're a professional photographer.

This is beautifully amazing wonderful shots so brilliant and amazing wow :D

Fantastic photo for you
1864968.jpg

It feels good. Finally springtime!

beautiful photography to celebrate spring!!

Love those magnolia buds! Ah spring....great photos.

Great photos. I love the dreamy colors of the flowers against the blue sky. Also the variations of details from the photo with the dog in nature to reflections on the water from buildings.

These photos are so beautiful ! 😍😍 cant believe it was so hot , compared to Ireland we are only getting some sunshine but a lot of wind as well so it doesnt seem warm. Love this time of year because of the cherry blossoms !!!@

very cool articles and great photos.
i really like this one.
DQmUWmTKSpU5L7AVF8kNGzVf9PYQrEYhu82tKjAX5AFwkWR_1680x8400.jpg

Really a beautifull photography..looking awesome thank you for sharing with us..