Smartphone Photography -- City Scenes (in Black and White)

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

When I first started street photography back in 2015, it was as if I had stumbled upon a world I hadn't realized existed even though those daily streets and the people upon them had always been there. My eyes were open to a new way of seeing and I was excited. The problem was I didn't know how to use a camera. First off, I'm dyslexic and for whatever reason my brain does not understand the basic principles of how a camera works and therefore I have traditionally stayed away from photography. However, I do have a Fine Arts education from both high school and college, so I have a trained eye and understand the concept of composition.

I have a smart phone! And because I do, I was able to start taking photographs when I was never able to do so before. It was very freeing. And fun! It was a great creative outlet, too! Soon after, I became part of online groups sharing mobile photographs and slowly I learned, I got better. I entered international contests such as the one Lensculture puts on every year. Some photos were well received, and much to my surprise I was offered a portfolio space on their site. I was stoked! Still, it's been an experience of what many artists go through; questioning myself, wondering whether or not my photos were actually good. Asking whether or not mobile photography is actually photography at all, many photographers with "real" cameras say it is not, and I respect that. It didn't stop me, however. After all, everyone has to act according to their own hearts and souls. And so I proceeded.

Fast forward to 2018. After being published in online magazines and being nominated for a few mobile photography awards and featured on Instagram hubs, I decided to focus my work on a series rather than just taking random shots. I chose a theme: Moments of Being. Photographs taken in NYC documenting dynamic moments in which a strong personal presence emerges in relation to a distinctive public space. Then I was invited to put my photos into a contest on Instagram which happened to have a similar theme by two excellent mobile photography hubs which have featured my work, bnw_demand and 1415 Mobile Photographers. The theme; Metropolis. How Does the Metropolis Affect Your Life. The contest culminates with a single award, which I don't have much chance winning but I thought I might as well get my work out there. At the same time another Instagram hub and online magazine, Linklens, asked to feature my black and white street photos and I agreed, sending them 8 of the Moments of Being series and I am now awaiting their introduction with excitement. This is the first time more than a single image of mine will be featured to the public!

I guess this is the long way of re-introducing a series I started for Steemit a while back called City Scenes in which either black and white or color photographs I've taken in my hometown of New York City was showcased.

And so, without further ado, I present to you the latest installment of City Scenes for Steemit! the 8 photographs I submitted to Linklens for publication.



IMG_1017.JPG


tempImageForSave.jpg


tempImageForSave.jpg


IMG_2385.JPG


tempImageForSave.jpg


IMG_2093.JPG

IMG_1941.JPG


IMG_1831.JPG


Hope you enjoyed this post. To check out my previous posts or to follow me, please click here.

Thank you!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Classical and vintage shots you are a professional :)

Thanks starboye! So nice to see you here! :D

i doubt it. you can be hardly a professional with a smartphone. images looks good but its all post processing. and automatic process made by an app. nothing to complicated and arty in my opinion.

Very good ... I like street photography :)

Thank you!

you are welcome :)

nice pictures

You're doing great with smartphone photography yes true Professional cameras hard to use but there is some classes can teach you how to use DSLR as a professional but i think you found your artistic eye with smartphone photography good luck my dear in your career

Thank you dear Soufiane! Always so nice to hear from you!

Awesome photography of street its an incredible color outstanding. I loved it your shots always you pic up nice clicks and amazed me any time. In deed inside thought your every picture !!
yOu have wonderful weekend @iliaana :)

Thank you for stopping by, dear! Hope you're having a wonderful weekend, too! xo

most welcome! can I get your discord link?

this is dazzling street photography as reliably you tap the awesome minutes into picture they are perfect minutes you top the photograph marvelous.
Please see my new post @ilanaakoundi

Thank you dear! Will do!

Your work is great, always. Regards! @ilanaakoundi 👋👋

Thank you Jose! Always a pleasure to see you stop by! :D

lovely
images (21).jpg

Thank you! xo

wow very excellent post Thanks for sharing i will done upvote....///

Thanks very much! :D

What a wonderful pictures you take with smartphone, i think i have a very long way ahead to be like you, I take my shots with smartphone too but they're not like such professionallity !!
I will follow you to Learn more from you :)

Thank you Soufiani! Yes, practice is the best way to get better and better! I wish you the best of luck!
:D

Thank you very much i will walk behind your steps :)

Thank you Soufiani! Yes, practice is the best way to get better and better! I wish you the best of luck!
:D

Wow ,what a amazing photography. every shot represent a new stroy. These photos are marvelous @ilanaakoundi..

Thank you very kindly! :D

These images are truely awesome because of these images I become your fan @ilannakoundi.

Thank you again! smiles :D

Hat's off @ilanaakoundi these are some amazing pictures. I loved the second last picture. You can see the feels the emotions of that girl in that picture. And the first picture the guy looks confident and the way he's looking we can tell that he is moving towards his destiny. This is really fascinating how pictures can make a person alive.

Thanks so much Mr. Awesome! I appreciate your stopping by and kind words! :D

this work merits a honor. I cherish it excessively. all that we do must be singsong with our absolute entirety.

Thanks so much Anna! :D

this is the result of a very awesome photo of a friend, this work deserves an award. I love it too much. everything we do must be singkron with our heart and soul. still live and love the work you do, I am sure you will succeed. thank my real friends, if you have time try to see my work and give a little response for my progress in the future. warm regards from my friends.

Thank you dear! I appreciate your kind comments very much! :D

Cheers right back!

Thank you again dear. if you have a chance, visit me too dear. so I can be more active and also eager to write my dear.

Hello Mam #ilanaakoundi hope you have doing well and enjoy yourself 🙂 this is soo beautiful street photography as always you click the awsome moments into picture they are perfect moments you cap the picture wonderfull ☺💕

Hello Hazel, thank you! I'm well and hope you are too! xo

Lovely work. I was asked to do a presentation about street photography recently and one of the points I made was you can use any camera, it is about the image nit the technical aspect. It would have nice to have been aware of yur work at the time to refer to. I will share the link. Thanks

Hello there! Ah! I hope you posted your presentation! I'll hop over to your blog and have a look! Thanks as always for stopping by here, it's nice to hear from you! Thank you so much for the resteem! :D

Really great captures... We make the time frozen... At least only in our frame...

Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures and have a nice day my friend...

My friend, I agree, and it never ceases to amaze me how moments can be captured and the joy it brings to do so! Sending a big hug to you and your dear wife! :D

wow i like them..they look so natural :)

yeah true

Thank you sweet Claira! Sending xo

thank you so much for share with us

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:47:25
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 307.74/400.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 106
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

how are you mam?
you are a good photographer
i'm new in steemit please see my blog

Thank you! Will do!

Absolutely love your work! Spontaneous, serene, well composed.. . The tranquility is also very striking. Nothing shocking. Just loads of space for the eye to wonder, wander. I believe lots of photographers have difficulty accepting the fast changing medium as it exists today. Personally I love the fact how democratic and accessible all these technological advances have made photography. Photography in its purest form. The eye you develop and how you translate your subject to your viewers is now finally at the forefront. Not whether one has the money to afford the expensive equipment, or the technical know how of how to use/operate them. Can one ask for more? All this is ultimately good for the art. The more are able to participate and contribute, the richer it will get. You keep them coming. I personally started off with the big DSLR, bt now I rarely change my Ricoh for the much heavier and cumbersome Sony.

i agree with you..

Yes, I too love the democratization of photography through technology and the glimpses into worlds we would not otherwise be privy. Thank you for your kind comments! I had an instant affinity to your work and look forward to the pleasure of seeing more! Smiles :D

Want to come along, lots of photos that can not be reversed, - stories that are not

inferior to written stories - only if we want to take the time to get and update the visual language of the photo.

A photographer has a role between the photo and the person viewing the photo, by arranging and capturing elements in the photo to form a story, touched from the person who sees and evokes feelings. These photos have a meaning.

The photos are not only visible to people who see for them they also reinforce each other between the photo and those who see. These photos contain a view and information, but only if we want to define the visual rhetoric of the photograph.

Good job, your post is amazing.

What a lovely comments! I enjoyed reading it! Thanks so much for taking the time to visit!

Cheers for a wonderful week! :D

Excellent shots this is so beautiful to see its epic to see looking wonderful :)

Thanks so much my cutiepie! :D

Good work.. :)

Thank you! :D

You are doing wonder with your smart phone photography. Your skill with photography reveals you won a lot of people heart by your photography. It's an honor to get nominated for the international award and published your picture in international magazine. well done @ilanaakoundi Glad to know that you sent 8 of your picture to Linklens. All the best for future endeavor. Pics are amazing. Thanks for sharing your success story with us. keep sharing

Thank you kamchore! You are most kind! :D

this is really amazing the shots are awesome excellent work dear :)

Thank you very much! Appreciate you stopping by! :D

Some interesting pictures,
It turns black and white images more natural to the view.
I also use smartphone to hoby my photos.
Cool photo taking.

Lovers of writing and smartphonephotography @acha | Nurhayani

Thank you! Ah! I'll pop over to your blog and have a look! :D

A very interesting experience and have to be a role model. your photo is also very good I enjoy one by one. thank you for sharing this my friend.

Thank you very kindly! :D

Thank you very kindly! :D

:D yess my friend,,,

Dear friend this photos are love. different composition and strong photography. I loves street photography. every photo are very interesting and with life together this peoples. .. incredible. ...

Thank you dear! I appreciate you stopping by!
Cheers :D

@ilanaakoundi, Excellently taken street photography. Awesomeness creations friend. You've best skills for photo shoot.
Absolutely brilliant effort.

A big thank you! Such lovely comments!
Wishing you a lovely week! :D

these shots looks incredible in monochrome colors beautiful it is wow thanks for sharing dear great post indeed :)

Thank you my dear! Always a pleasure to hear form you! xo

I can not take such nice pictures over the phone.
you are awesome!
you really have a very good vision. aesthetic and remarkable. I love the style my dear friend :)
love and kisses! x

Awwww many thanks my dear! That makes me quite happy to hear you say because I love to see your work as it speaks to my heart! A big hug to you and your husband!
xo

Nice post and picture 🍻🌸

Thanks very much! :D

outstanding work, thank you for sharing with us! cheers fcdvpds

Great story behind how you became a street photographer and why you use a phone camera, it definitely doesn't make you any less of a photographer. I always say it's the person behind the lens not the camera, you can give someone the most expensive camera in the world but they could not have a clue how to use it, and then give someone with amazing talent an iphone and look what you can do!! I love this series, the second one, of the guy leaning against the wall is so good, I am trying to find a way to describe what it is that make your street photography so unique, I think it's the composition but also you manage to capture the people's essence, their story, they are all just amazing!
Hope your well :) xx

your reply reminded of the old challenge by DigitalRev Kai and Lok :-)

You're doing great with smartphone photography yes true Professional cameras hard to use but there is some classes can teach you how to use DSLR as a professional but i think you found your artistic eye with smartphone photography good luck my dear in your career.nice pictures

Thank you! I appreciate your kind comments and your stopping by! :D

@ilanaakoundi,
I feel Vintage! Specially you took photography based on humans and their activities! So, unlike we do you capture incredible photography of those scenery! For me this is the hardest but greatest concept of the photography!

Cheers~

This post has received 100% upvote from @minnowspower thanks to: @theguruasia

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid

I'm looking hard to find some quality photos on Steemit and I've found you! Really great street photos. My feed will be a little more tasteful now hahaha.

Amazing Smartphone Photography,never seen such beautiful images,great work,Following you have a great day.

wao, realy nice and amazing photography ,, you are great photographer
please see my posts

@ilanaakoundi - Ma'm I feel I'm watching Vintage street photography collection... Stunning photography & B&W colors are well suited to it Ma'm...

+W+

Black and white pics are amazing,great work,every pic is unique,Following you,have a wonderful day.

@ilanaakoundi..hey how are you .i hope you are good. After a long time again i saw your beautiful photography. Looking beautiful thank you for sharing with us..

cool post my dear! have a nice day

WOW! Really fascinating! Your captures are always BRILLIANT! I tried smartphone photography last week and it didn't went well, so I came back at posting poems instead.. I think it doesn't suit me XD .. Keep up the good shots @ilanaakoundi! God bless you :)

Wow the pictures are looking really awesome.... You have lot of experience since you have started street photography from 2015 & it is reflecting on your chapture. You have done the job.. I am also love photography but I'm not a professional photographer... Now I am a follower of you... Hope I can see much more from you in future.... God bless you...

Me encantan tus imàgenes!! Son muy sensacionales, a mi también me gusta hacer imàgenes con teléfonos inteligentes!! Felicidades!!

There are 2 pages
Pages