Smartphone Photography - WOW! A Spring-like day in NYC, my visit downtown to Freedom Tower & Surrounding Area!

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

The other day New York City had a record 70 degree weather day! We enjoyed a great big blue sky and lot's of sunshine! It was a thrilling reprieve from the wintery cold and like many New Yorkers I made sure to get outside.

Finding myself downtown near Ground Zero, I decided to pop over to visit the reflecting pools set in the footprints of the former Twin Towers, designed by architect and artist Daniel Libeskind which are poignant and lovely, honoring the souls lost on September 11. They are meant to reflect absence and when you are standing there, you feel that mightily. The thirty foot waterfalls above each pool cascades an astounding 52,000 gallons of recycled water a minute. The gentle sound it produces is conducive to quiet reflection, and indeed one hardly notices the hustle and bustle of the city all around poised at the edge of either pool. Or under the awesome gaze of the famed 104 story One World Trade Center otherwise known as Freedom Tower. Surrounding each pool is a bronze parapet in which the names of everyone lost is inscribed, it is both heart-rending and beautiful. With similar poignancy, there is a tradition of placing a single white rose on the name of the person whose birthday it is and one can not help but get choked up. There are lovely white oak saplings, up to 400, planted in the surrounding pedestrian plaza, which offer a sense of new life growing at Ground Zero - it's wonderful how these newly planted trees dot the landscape and are reflected in the glass of the museum. In fact everywhere one looks at the memorial these little saplings rise up in a way that only mother nature can. It is altogether deeply moving!

Although, there is still construction ongoing from 2011, right next door is the Oculus, the new Trade Center transportation hub. It's open! And it's stunning! It was designed by Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. We have nothing like it in New York City! It is an unusual, awe-inspiring place both inside and out though some liken it to a dinosaur carcass because it looks as if it has 'ribs' or even a Pokemon, but I don't see that. I do however love it and think it a marvelous architectural addition to NYC.

Just across the West Side highway, there is a fancy-pancy mall called Westfield World Trade that leads to a wonderful promenade overlooking to ever-rising skyline of New Jersey and, of course, the watery jewel of New York, the Hudson River. There, you can enjoy the lovely view or simply stroll along, some jog, and eat in the number of restaurants, many of which have lovely outdoor seating.

This area in downtown New York City is all new, built since 2001 and If you are ever here for a visit, I highly recommend the Memorial and Museum at Ground Zero, it is a stunning tribute, and the surrounding area, too - it is a sight for the eyes, heart, and senses!


Freedom Tower & Ground Zero Museum



HipstamaticPhoto-541179620.061660.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133627.350215.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133667.019246.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541134773.305998.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541177335.658536.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541179153.505277.jpg

HipstamaticPhoto-541179275.963954.jpg



The Oculus (inside and out)



HipstamaticPhoto-541133929.161596.jpg


![HipstamaticPhoto-541180982.279073.jpg]
()


HipstamaticPhoto-541134557.278566.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133742.451853.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133702.348299.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133853.780740.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541133788.147187.jpg

HipstamaticPhoto-540861542.807918.jpg

HipstamaticPhoto-541182228.846614.jpg

Westfield World Trade and Promenade (overlooking New Jersey)



HipstamaticPhoto-541134979.999465.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541134796.170929.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541134910.592291.jpg


HipstamaticPhoto-541135028.816315.jpg


Hope you enjoyed this post. To check out my previous posts or to follow me, please click here.

Thank you!

Sort:  

The retro feel goes with the NYC scenery quite well! Glad you were able to enjoy with great weather :)

Thanks my lady polebird! always lovely to see you here! x

Wow i should visit NYC someday there is much things to photograph
Great shots no word can describe how magical it is my dear well done 😍😍

My spring view
20180221_141453-01-01.jpeg

Thank you Soufiane! Very lovely!

Thanks for yur good posts!

Thank you for stopping by!

Buen trabajo con las fotos, son hermosas. Gracias por compartir tu post, me gusto mucho.

Mucho gracias! x

Lovely photos again! You're a pro with your smartphone. And I love the tone and feel of the photos... I feel like it pays homage to the tragedy that took place there, while still allowing you to capture beautiful images. I look forwards to reading and seeing more about your travels :)

Thanks so much Tristan! I appreciate you stopping by and your kind comments! It's a somber yet beautiful place, so glad that came across! Popped over to you blog! I'm already a fan!

Wow!! Wonderfull all photograph's, you are capture these picture amazingly, I liked it very much @ilanaa ^_^ Freedom Tower it's beautiful city very fascinating. You are so lucky you've a very beautiful country :)

Thank you so much my dear! Yes, I feel very grateful xo

Amazing and splendid architecture. we have witnessed closely.
the photo of the little child is very good.

Thank you! I appreciate you kind comments and stopping by!
Cheers! :D

These are cool shots! Well done @ilanaakoundi!
I wish you have a wonderful weekend! :)

Awww many thanks dear!

It's been a lovely weekend! I hope yours was as well! :D

Nice post and great Smartphone pictures! I haven't been to NYC for much too long already! 🙂

Ah! Then it's time to visit again! Thank you so much!

@ilanaakoundi,
First I thought it might be a single photography! Then I realized it's a collection of photography and I assure this is the 1st time I saw that building! I know what was happened but this is the first time I got an update of it! Outstanding and great photo collection! Thank you my dear friend!

Cheers~

Oh wow! I'm so glad to introduce such a lovely building to you! It took me a long time to go downtown to see it, but when I did I was so happy!
I always look forward to reading your nice comments and get the chance to say "CHEERS! Thank very much you my friend! "D

very nice and creative photos ! Love to see how good smartphones are for photography aswell :)

Thank you! Yes, I agree! I'm always interested to see what people can do with their smartphones!

@ilanaakoundi its amazing what you can do with a smartphone camera. It doesn't matter the kind of phone I used, my photos are always just good enough to scare children during Halloween... lol. Thanks for taking our eyes along the tour. Cheers

Thank you! And cheers! :D

This post has received 100% upvote from @minnowspower thanks to: @theguruasia

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid

Omg the other day was SOO beautiful !! It felt good to walk a walk. Took my son to the park for the first time . I miss the spring days . Hope you’re well !!

Oh it sure was! Two days of heaven! Perfect for the park and walking! I'm good thank you, can't wait for spring either! And thanks for stopping by, I look forward to reading your sweet comments and saying hello! Sending a big :*

beautiful..i love these pictures..truly amazing :)

Thank you sweet Claira! Big :*

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 19:07:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 298.69/400.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 102
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow the charming city of all times this is great to see stunning shots each and everyone so great captured shots always lovely to see your posts :D

Thank you so much my dear! Lovely to see you! Hope you're well! :D

its astonishing what you can do with a cell phone camera. It doesn't make a difference the sort of telephone I utilized, my photographs are constantly sufficiently great to alarm kids amid Halloween @ilanaakoundi

Lol, that's putting the phone to good use! Thanks for stopping by! x

a beautiful city, I have never been there and probably will not go there because the cost is expensive for me. nevertheless by looking at this beautiful picture i like being there now.

Thank you so much! That's what I love about Steemit! I get to travel to places I might otherwise not get to!

"WOW" Very different set of photos!!!!!! I like that change!!!! Great work
-cheers-

Thank you very kindly! :D

I like your photos a lot. I was just there last weekend and got snowed on!

Thanks Mr. Somebody! Looking forward to seeing your drawings of NYC! :D

Great photos!

Thanks very much Jose!

Great photo! I also like to take photos on a smartphone.

Hello Mary, thank you so much and for stopping by, too! I'll pop over and have a look at your blog!

Hello @ilanaakoundi! Thank you for seeing my photos. I would be interested to talk about the possibilities of photography using the phone. It is a great rarity to meet a person who sees in photography a composition, color, form. I have an art education, so for me these are important moments in the photo. I signed up for your blog, we'll talk!

Wow you got skills! Your photos are amazing!

Thank youuuuu very much my dear! :D

@ilanaakoundi, You created me unbelievable travel experience post indeed glorious photo clicks. The buildings given flying kiss to blue sky. You catch it awesomely. New york city create using amazing architectural system. Outstanding scenery & I can take imagine. Thanks for stunning me dear. Stay Blessed.

Thank you for your very kind comments and for stopping by! Blessings right back! :D

wao, a great visit to a great place of wonderful looking, a great freedom tower, I really enjoyed your each post .
take a look of my posts as you saw always

As always, tanks very much my dear! x

Wonderful photography

Hey there Father Grumpy! Thanks so much for sopping by! :D

Very nice series of photos, thanks for sharing them!

Very kind, thank you! :D

wow my dear friend, you had a perfect day! I see this in every photo.
very beautiful rhythm-filled frames. !
Beautiful curves, love the point of view! Great visualism, architecture and composition;
I really love this one a lot. Great light and tonal range..
Many thanks, Ceren!

Ceren, my dear! Thank you very kindly! It's always so lovely to hear from you!
Cheers, hope your having a wonderful Monday! x

it is also great to hear from you!
I hope to talk more and meet you :)

@ilanaakoundi you shared a lot of pictures and a long writing...now actually i just look pictures...Even the pictures are great and i read a little of your writing about you had a beautiful hot day in Newyork ...Meanwhile first second and last pictures are my favourite...

thanks for this huge sharing my dear friend and have a nice day...:)

Thank you my dear! So happy you stopped by! Say a big hello to your beautiful wife! xo

teach to me how do you take such good photos? do you use editing ??? if yes, what is the name of the app ... i like your super photography

Hello there! Thank you so much! I use an app on my iPhone called Hipstamatic! It has a lot of lovely filters.

You are welcome.
Wow fantastic.
I'm not.have iphone . I have xkaomi :) ...
What aplication trik for edoting with xiaomi ???

@ilanaakoundi - Ma'm it's a beautiful photography... Nice you decided to share this fantastic experience Ma'm... have a good day for you...

+W+

Thank you! You are very kind! Wishing you a lovely week ahead!

Cheers! :D

I love that place. The architecture of this museum looks cool, behind the sad story that ever happened.
Hopefully one day I can get there :)

Thank you very kindly! I really appreciate your lovely comments and stopping by, too! I hope you can make it here, too!

Yes! Hopefully I get there on another occasion

Those are some great photographs, especially when you consider they are smartphone photos. Did you use any filter effects on them, or was that the natural lighting?

Thanks! I loooooove my iPhone! Hehe! I do use an app called Hipstamatic! It has LOTS of wonderful filters! The day I took these photos was sunny so I had a lot of nice lights and shadows to work with! Those are the BEST days! x

Wow these are so amazing!! You have got such a good eye for composition, framing is perfect on all of them. I don't know if we will ever get to New York so seeing it through your photographs is so good, it's almost like we are there walking around through your photos. The ground zero monument looks beautiful, I can imagine it's a hard experience to be there but worth seeing. Thank you for sharing these! xx

Awww you made my day! Such a lovely compliment! One day I'm sure you and Chris will make it to NYC and I'd be happy and honored to show you some great places! It took me many years to go to Ground Zero. As a girl I watched the Twin Tower be built, it was quite a thing for young eyes to see two towers going up, and I saw them destroyed, knew people who were incinerated. Heartbreaking. When I was able to go finally I saw something poignant and honorable in it's place and I'm very happy some of that has come through for this post! Say a big hello to Chris! Sending you both xo

Awww I hope we do, and if you are ever in the UK we would be happy to return the favour! Oh gosh, I am so sorry you knew people in towers, it was so tragic, seeing it being built must have been so amazing and then to see that... there are no words. I'm not surprised it took you a while to go there. Yes your photos showed some beauty in the site and I really loved that! Will do!! He says Hello too!! Speak soon! xx

Thx again, Verity! x

It's been a month since I visited your page. You're photography is in the next level! No kidding. Just watching your photos makes me wanna involve in photography :D . Awesome pictures @ilanaakoundi. Looking forward to your posts. God bless :) .

Awwww thanks so much! You should go for it! Blessings back, my dear! x

I will, someday :) . I'm just 30sbd away from being a photographer :D . God bless @ilanaakoundi! :D

Beautiful pictures about place where are the twin towers !

Thank you very much!

Good job !

Thanks so much!

The city has incredibly high buildings. Thanks for sharing...

It does indeed! Thank you!

Your framing is awesome.

Thanks so much! :D

i think you are enjoyed this day and i want to say that i like to read about it so thanks for sharing a great photography and best post...

Wow, these are incredible! So many great photos, I especially like some of the architecture ones, stunning work! Ground Zero is one of those places I really want to go to at some point, it feels kind of strange to want to go there but I feel like it's somewhere everyone SHOULD go to visit if that makes sense?