The Ant's Web on The Guyabano Fruit

It fascinated me to see a fruit wrapped in a web just like in the first picture. But it fascinated me more to know that the web was created by ants. Though it can't be seen in the pictures, in actual, there were ants roaming around that trees and one indication that they were presents are those white pigments/marks on the fruit itself. A zoomed in picture of those white pigments/markings can be seen on the fourth picture. And those colony of ants have built their own house by collecting all dried leaves at the top of one of the fruits, that is showing in picture number 3. And as I researched on Google those ants are called "weaver ants" that's why they produced their own version of their webs. Another trivia says, that these ants are harvested and sold as food in the Philippines.

This is the first time I know and see about these weaver ants, how about you?

IMG_20180422_161123.jpg

IMG_20180422_161029.jpg

IMG_20180422_161105.jpg

IMG_20180422_161217.jpg

Thank you for reading.
@puroypoi May 6, 2018

Sort:  

It's insanely amazing!
Saw like this when I was in the Philippines!

Thank you sir. Philippines have plenty of it anywhere. ;)

Wow, never knew there were ants that could make webs like spiders. And they are eaten by humans? Hmm... I don't know if I would be brave enough to try them.

Even if I'm starving, I too, can't eat it hehe

I bet! lol

I've never heard of weaver ants either..

Me too, just like what they said, there's always a first time. ;)

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Thank you very much!

Muy interesante cada día la naturaleza nos sorprende ,saludos

Thank you so much for coming here.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-06T01:41:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 128.95/200.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 68
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.35 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you very much!

Ants gumawa nian poi?

Yup Met. Di lang kita sa pic pero yung mga antik, yung malalaking pulang laggam sila may gawa nyan. Meron dyan sa picture pero di lang talaga sila kita at malabo ang camera haha

Amazing n mga langgam na yan hehehe

Very interesting your article dear friend @puroypoi, I had no idea that there are ants weavers. Already resteem your post. A tender greeting

Thank you for your support @felixgarciap. Glad that I contributed something that you too find interesting. ;)