Photography Tips: Do not underestimate the power of your Smartphone's Camera.

Smartphone Photography

20171229_171215-2.jpg

Hello Guys, what's up?

Raymund Bumagat here and today, I am going to show you some tips on how you can maximize your phone's camera.

Believe it or not, that image from above was taken using my Samsung S7 Edge's Camera in Automatic Mode. Quite good and Instagram worthy right?

Smartphone is one of our necessities right now and no wonder why its cameras are great nowadays.

Today, I was thinking of what picture will I upload on my Instagram that will matches my feed which is currently urban/ street / city feels. ( Below is my current feed )

We want to somehow curate our feed and make our followers and future followers know what to expect with our profile.

As I browse my archives and in-camera pictures, it seems that I cannot upload anything that will match current feed.

I remember that I took some pictures using my Smartphone when I visited in Makati so I browsed it. Luckily, I found two pictures that will fit.

20171229_171215.jpg

20171229_172539.jpg

As you can see, both pictures are quite good but it lacks details, quality and of course the tone or the mood.

Now this comes the part where you need to edit your photos. There are many photo editing applications available right now for your Smartphones for FREE. You can choose what you want, what you know and where are you comfortable editing with.

I recommend the following( based on how I use them ):

  • Lightroom Mobile/PC - Color grading, Basic adjustments, Brush( for premium users in Mobile ).
  • Snapseed - Dual Exposure, Better ratio for basic adjustments, Brush.
  • VSCO - Lots of Presets, Basic Adjustments.

In my case, I will use my Lightroom as I already have my own preset there. See Before and After:

Both were color graded using my own Lightroom Preset.

I after color grading, and doing some basic adjustments, I advise the following:

  • Crop - to frame your subject, straighten and to avoid unnecessary elements in the picture.
  • Sharpen - Color grading will or might damage the image quality, so it is best to use some amount of clarity and sharpening.

Now here's the final images that are just waiting to be uploaded:

20171229_172539-2.jpg

20171229_171215-2.jpg

The images above were only taken using automatic mode just the typical snap and shoot. What if your camera has the capability to shoot in manual where you can control your iso and shutterspeed? Maybe you can do something like this:

GardenLongExpoS7.jpg

iso 100 | 2 seconds shutter speed

Conclusion

Just go ahead and shoot using your phones.
Know its capabilities and limits.
Take your time to practice.
Use different editing tools and make sure you know how and when to use it.

As what most photographers always saying, "The best camera is the one that you have with you".

Thank you!

So that's it for me today guys! I hope that you liked it, hope that you learned something new that will help you up your photos using your smartphones.

So! Hit that up-vote button, follow me if you haven't yet, and see you guys in the next posts!

rymndbmgt.png

Sort:  

Nice tips! Even smartphones nowadays have a dedicated tripod. Many phones now have advanced or "expert" settings where you can play with shutter speed. With smartphones' rolling shutters, you might even produce unexpected results like this one.

Thanks, no wonder why smartphones can produce quality photos or even videos nowadays.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 08:35:47
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.60/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank