You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Summary of HF21 Smartsteem.com Changes

in #smartsteem5 years ago

Hello @lookplz,

we appreciate your feedback.

The changes in the minimum promotion amount was actually to protect users like you, who normally would buy small quantities. The vote value is not linear anymore, which means it's lower if the total post value is below 20 STEEM payout.

If you're buying votes for 1 STEEM and you're expecting 0.2 STU as a reward, you might just get 0.15 STU due to the non-linear rewards curve. That way we can't promise the ROI, because we can't just increase the ROI for small promotion buyers.

However, with this in mind, we've changed the minimum promotion amount to:

Vote-Bidding: 1 SBD / 5 STEEM
Vote-Buying: 0.5 SBD / 2 STEEM

That way, you're able to buy many more votes from smaller voters, as you're able to send a lower amount. We can't promise this of course, due to the current market conditions, but we'll do our best.

Team Smartsteem

Sort:  

I'm sorry if I came off a bit rash. I was just a bit frustrated at the time. I appreciate your reply though and taking the time to explain things a bit more clearly for me.

I do think that Steem Engine tokens contribute a great deal of value to having voting diversity, so if you can make it to where smaller people have more of an impact, it's always going to be greatly appreciated by people like myself. Those, in unison with steem directly, and SMTs when they arrive, I believe, will rapidly increase the value of steem and in turn, all of our stakes. Being able to earn them through voting diversity (As many different voters as possible.) would keep you at the top of the list as far as value of promotion goes. (In my opinion. :P)

I think that it would be better for even small users to use a fraction of their voting power btw. I feel that it would increase their curation return when using your vote selling feature by allowing them (And me, I sell votes with you!) to be able to vote on a larger variety of posts. I believe this would maximize the returns because say they vote 100% on a post that doesn't promote beyond say $1. Then, in the time they are recovering power, assuming they are voting at a 25% rate instead of 100% which is generally the current when selling a vote with your service, they miss 3 posts that are promoted above $20-40 range that they would have otherwise voted 25% on each of and received a larger chunk of curation from. (In theory.)

Just some things to think about. I am definitely satisfied so far, so I apologize again if my frustration came off aggressively. That was not my intention. I guess I can't expect things to work perfectly as I personally expect them to. lol.

The one thing I want to pat you on the back about, is how you've formed the ability to send one amount and receive multiple votes from it. Having to send many many different transactions seems a bit spammy on the blockchain, so the fact that you've consolidated the need for transaction sending, while still providing a large number of upvotes, is incredible! It's the main reason I've been drawn to your service since I started out here. I love it! As I said before, it also allows me to help the little people like myself grow. (Something I really enjoy being able to do.)

I suppose for the time being, maybe I just need to write posts that are of higher value, so that I feel I am justified in spending 10 steem to promote them. ;)

Cheers to the future! :)