SML Feedback Contest Round Three Starts Now.

in #smlchallenge6 years ago (edited)

SML Feedback Contest Round 3

9 Days Left To Enter And Earn SML Points On That Leaderboard!

The main focus of this Feedback Contest, is for Musicians and Producers that are participating in the SML Challenge and the Beat Battle League for Season 2. I find that having a fresh set of ears listening to your track always comes in handy! And you never know, that bit of feedback you receive, just might put you in the winners slot. And since I am a big fan of the Music Community here on Steemit, I have taken up the torch for this contest.

I will be awarding Steem Prizes, Voiceshares and some Whaleshares. And @chiefmappster has donated to a stack of VoiceShares to kick this contest off, and that will allow participants to earn more points for the challenges leaderboard, and move them up the ladder.

Consider this an open invitation to all, submit your tracks, and give some positive and constructive feedback to your fellow Producers and Musicians taking part in the challenges. :-)

The last round was really great, and thanks to all who took part! So let's keep that momentum going with Round 3 with some awesome feedback, that is detailed as you can get.

Good Luck!




The Rules of the Road:

  1. Your track can be of any genre.

  2. Producers/Musicians: If you submit a track for feedback, in order to qualify, you need to give feedback to others on at least 1 track.

  3. Feedbackers: Provide constructive and positive feedback. BS comments will get a big red flag.

  4. There will be three tiers of prizes for the best feedback provided, judged by yours truly.

  5. Both the Producer and the person giving the feedback will get a 50/50 split of the prizes. And the Producer/Musician will earn points for the Challenges.

  6. In order to be awarded VoiceShares/Whaleshares, you will need a BitShares Wallet, or have an account on OpenLedger. Any WS or VS not claimed will be kept in the prize vault for future contests.


Prize Pool:

First Prize:
5 Steem and 10 Whaleshares and 20 VoiceShares For 40 Points/2

Second Prize:
3 Steem and 6 Whaleshares and 16 VoiceShares For 30 Points/2

Third Prize:
2 Steem and 4 Whaleshares and 10 VoiceShares For 20 Points/2



So let's get it going on! Submit your tracks, and earn some Challenge Points...

And don't forget... show some love to your fellow Musicians and Producers with an Upvote!

The Feedback Contest: Round Three is now live, and the current dates for submissions are:

Feb 8th until Feb 22th 12 midnight est. Winners announced on Feb 23th.
Update 02-13-18: 8 Songs in the Mix!

https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@mindseye-music/my-beat-battle-league-season-2-round-2-entry-the-place-beyond-the-clouds
https://soundcloud.com/fresheiremusic/starlight-orchestral-with-drums-version-2
https://soundcloud.com/lefthouse-recordings/hell_o_heaven_by_rofrantic/s-cKTVS
https://soundcloud.com/novilibeats/sleepy-savannah-hard-drum-trap-beat
https://soundcloud.com/scottychams/substance
https://steemit.com/music/@joymatters/caribbean-islands-music-theme
https://dsound.audio/#/@nousiaoficial/blood-cum--powder



Check out the SMA on Discord!
Lots of contests going on right now, including the Beat Battle,
and the SML Challenge!


Our Faithful Supporters

The @killerwhale Karaoke Contest is sponsored by #thealliance and judged by @topkpop @enginewitty @sol25 and @avesa, and there are 20 SBD up for grabs in Prizes! This is an Awesome Contest, that is a lot fun for everyone. So, drop your video and/or link to your post with the video of you in the comments section of the contest post.





Sort:  

If anybody want's to give feedback here's my SML Challenge for this week...
https://steemit.com/dsound/@grizzle/island-dub-steemit-music-league-challenge-island-music

So here is my entry. Bringing you 9ja afropop groove. Please share your views,i need them cuz every beat i have listened to here has blown my mind. I am basically here to learn..so please teach fellas.


I could only upload this way cus m having pc issues. Hope its ok.
Please i will like to know if i have entered this contest,have i done it well?

this record has a retro feel to it. i had flashbacks of my childhood playing sonic the hedgehog on sega while listenin to this. good work homie!

Thanks mahn! Lol maybe the game contributed to why i produced this kind of sound in a way,cuz i played sonic a lot too those days..and as they say,you only bring out what you got inside..so maybe sonic,from somewhere deep inside had its influence on the beat..lol, thanks a lot homie,your comment is well appreciated..

Hey mahn! So i made this beat just recently..please can u giv your opinion on it..would really appreciate it
https://steemit.com/music/@jo-la/soul-beat

Great job. I love the panning effects right after the kick build-up between 30-40 seconds in. You definitely have an ear for melodies. It's a very nice melody throughout. The only real critique I would have would be maybe have the kick build-up being a little shorter than it is but that's just a matter of personal preference. Very nice chord progression on the piano and use of effects on it. It's clear a lot of work has gone into this. Nice use of toms scattered throughout the track. I can definitely learn something from listening to this about paying more attention to stereo listeners. Again, great job

Thanks mahn. I love the critical point you made on the base biuld up, i wasnt too sure about it my self, but now that you mentioned it,i totally take your advice and make the base build up shorter..thanks a lot boss i am really honored to have your words on my work. Bless up

Hey mahn! So i made this beat just recently..please can u giv your opinion on it..would really appreciate it
https://steemit.com/music/@jo-la/soul-beat

Hello and welcome! :-) Yes you have, now just make sure to comment on other songs in the mix, and you will be entered into the contest.

Thank you @inthenow. So Glad to be here

Hey mahn! So i made this beat just recently..please can u giv your opinion on it..would really appreciate it
https://steemit.com/music/@jo-la/soul-beat

When you know how to touch someone elses soul,you definitely know how to pour out your soul,because only soul touch soul..i hear creativity,i hear relativity,i hear understanding of sounds,i hear the passion in your production..you must love this work,cuz i love it and am sure many others do.. You gave us the chills cuz even you felt it,you connected us to what you felt,and thats a true quality of a producer..beautiful sound mahn, i just started production newly,so i wish to learn a lot from you if possible,i am following you already..i hope you can check out some of my work too and give me your candid opinion. Thanks for sharing this beautiful sound again mahn. Weldon

Wow, thanks! Really appreciate it. I'll check out some of your stuff today and do my best to give feedback. I'm usually more into just enjoying the melodies of track.. Finding where the mix can be improved is not my strong point but I'll do my best where I can to help.

Thank you mahn. Your work is an inspiration to me really,am honored.

this tune, like your last comes with some real emotion. you got good happy sad feels happing. a lot of hope. I like this about this tune. i could see this in a movie perhaps.but as of right now it is a background track for a film. this can grow more i believe. i think the groove is so good, that a couple more sessions and you with start to find new lawyers and a bit more originality. it is weird for me to say this, as it goes against a lot of what i would normally say about a brake of a fill, but i really wanna hear that snare drum roll go on for a long bit, and swell and grow back into a big drop. lets have another instruments lawyer up! and perhaps some strange textures to bounce around. little ghostly creature animals making cute, spacey, echo sounds. put the track in an environment perhaps. maybe the jungle. give it some air! make this baby breath. it might not be bad to have a moment where we are almost all only drum sounds. perhaps the drums get a section and you twisted and trip them up a bit for some fun. if you did this, that snare drum roll could maybe build out of there. like i said love the emotion! and from me, i am always gonna scream on about more original sounding music from all of us is a must! lets get after it, take risk, and be ourselves! not to say you are not. i am always pushing myself and the others around me for more of the such! great track!!

Thanks for your feedback, appreciate it

Absolutely my style mate! The beginning reminds me the infamous 'Glorious Morning'. Amazing beat is following. Well done! It's my first time on this contest where I just can't find anything to criticize.

--- End of feedback ---

I wish I reach this level by the end of the year. Would you mind sharing what software you use?

Thanks so much! Really glad you like it. I use logic pro x to make all my music. Thanks for listening

Interesting. It seems as the main Fruity Loops competitor for Mac.

yes, I think Logic is the most popular music software on mac as far as I know. I actually started production years ago using fruity loops but I could never quite get the hang of it as easy as Logic

I see. I've always used Fruity Loops. Could try Logic after your words though.

I love the chill vibe in it and production is on the point. It kinda reminds me of this song which I really like (Yung Lean - Kyoto). Looking forward to more of your music ;)


Keep up the good work ;)

Wow, thanks so much! Really appreciate that. I really loved your track "Miles" in last weeks challenge. Hearing the production is on point from someone who can produce something that good is awesome! I'm at a friends house now but I'll get a listen to your entry for this week in the next day or two. Looking forward to hearing it.

Thank you man so much ;)

Btw. I made new contest for music production, feel free to enter if you are in the mood ;)


https://steemit.com/chordchallange/@antminer/chordchallange-1-make-something-from-this-chord-progression-and-win-steem


Blessings

Thanks for the heads up, I'll have a look now

I wasn't quite sure what to expect from the title of the track, but after reading the description on SoundCloud it started to make sense...and the result is pretty great! I'm a big fan of tracks that build to a sort of climax and you've definitely got that down. That's probably my favorite thing about the track. The drums in a way are a completely different genre (almost like a trap beat) than the instrumental orchestral vibe, but they work very well together. I would have liked a bit more variation in the drums, but that's just my personal taste. I do feel that somehow the track could use a bass, like a bassy synth or something like that. Now the lows are mainly just consisting of the kicks. I feel with a deep bass added, the track could have even more of an impact. Anyway, overall I think it's a great track, so well done!

Thanks for listening and for your feedback. I never thought of adding a bass. Might look into it for sure. It was originally just an orchestral track I made but now it's being made into a hiphop track that's mixed with orchestral music. There are gonna be vocals added over it at some point in the coming weeks all going well. Thanks again

Cool! I'm looking forward to hearing the end result!

my entry for this week, is also my entry for the beat battle. i believe this is ok to the rules. correct me if i am wrong and i reload!

helloheavenart.png

Listen to Hell O Heaven on Dtube
https://dsound.audio/#/@hilladigahackles/hell-o-heavenbyrofrantictheflyingemitoe

Listen to Hell O Heaven on Soundcloud
https://soundcloud.com/lefthouse-recordings/hell_o_heaven_by_rofrantic/s-cKTVS

my beat battle post link:
https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@hilladigahackles/hell-o-heaven-by-rofrantic-and-the-flying-emitoe-beatbattle-contest-s2-r2

i will get to the reviews asap! thanks all!

And another musician here,i here one excellent work and another one comes,so many talents here my God!..great work boss,following you on steemit.

thank you so kindly! i am following you back!!

Nice track man! I followed you on DSound

right on! thank you!! following you back!

You should put this up as a soundtrack for a movie..it'll sell. Nice work mahn,i ebcourage it.

Thank you :P

so much anticipation throughout the whole track! very dream like

This is dope!! I wanted to hear more! So much you can do with that from putting it in movies to sampling. Real Nice bro! I saw the new contest, most definitely gonna get involved in that one too! Peace bro!

i actually listend to this beat everyday this week yo.... needless to say, DOPE!

Am not only giving you feedback mahn am giving respect boss..this is off the hook,only sick mahn..the mixing,the vibe, the mastering, all on point mahn..m following you man..so many people good producers here,am not even feeling like a producer ryt now..lol. Am new in production,i wish to learn anyway possible mahn,if you dont mind.

Yo I'm putting out music production tutorials all few times a week. If you got any questions just hit me up :)

Thanks boss,am so grateful for this.. I will defibitely checkout your tutorials..thanks

Hey mahn! So i made this beat just recently..please can u giv your opinion on it..would really appreciate it
https://steemit.com/music/@jo-la/soul-beat

Wooow dude. This is a great use of beat and the rhythm. Everything is on the place from a design, production to creativity. I love the smooth bass line and use of the legato.

Collab someday bro?? :D

Keep up

Thanks for the appretiation :) I'm always down to collab got anything in mind?

Soon will get new PC, and when I get it will contact you. Are you on Discord?

sure am under nikahol

This is crazy!! sheesh!! Mixing is on point! 808 is hittin but not over powerful which is perfect! Dope effects and delays, panning. Studdering fx are clean. Real polished my friend!

This is a very unique track and it's hard to tell what was meant to sound the way it does and what actually needs some work, so I'm just gonna give my opinion on things.

Once the drums come in around 0:36 there is also an arp that comes in and I find the arp makes it hard to concentrate on any element of the mix in particular. I think it just needs to be mixed in better, maybe panned less and, if it's not, sidechain the kick to it. The feeling of unease and confusion also fades once the arp leaves and the guitar/bass thing comes in.

Around 1:12 you add the reverby bongos back into the mix, but I can barely hear them due to the guitar bass. I'm pretty sure you can just make them louder in this section, but if that's not what you wanna do consider EQing out the frequencies in other instruments where the bongo plays.

I really enjoyed the section after the one at 1:12 up until 2:37. I like the bell you put in and while I still think there's some room to improve the mix, it works well as it is now.

The instrument that comes in around 3:09 could be a tad louder. I like the melodic thing it does at 3:12 but it's hard to hear and could use some spotlight.

I really like the outro that just sounds fresh, but maybe make it a tad longer and fade out or something similar.

All in all, I really like the concept and the vibe that the song has. It's like a modern pop rock tune. Nice job!
The mix is this songs biggest weak point. Try to give each element its own space in the mix, cause that's gonna take it to the next level.

Hope this helps!

Thanks @novili for the great comments! They're very detailed, I like that because mixing/mastering is definitely one of my weakest points. I'm getting more into it lately, in order to - as you say correctly - take my tracks to the next level. So I'll definitely go through the track again with your comments and see if I can make improvements! That being said, I do try to create sort of unique tracks that don't sound like the 'generic' electronic music on the radio nowadays. So if it does sound 'strange' or 'different' to people, I do at least partially see that as a compliment :)

I'm glad I could help :)
and hey I didn't mean to say different is bad just that it's hard for me to give feedback out of my genre. I'm always excited by things that sound super out there shows a good level of creativity :)

I agree, creativity - and originality- in music is very important! Thanks again!

well well well i have already gushed over this tune so i am appy to give my thoughts again. i like this tune that much. It is simple, it feels like it is in somewhere. it has a lovely environment. originality. grit. heart, and passion. i hear room for lyrics. i mentioned before that I almost wanna write some for the tune. it has grand emotion and reminds me of the band Future Islands. which is one of my favorites! this just a great track!

Yeah i totally agree with @hilladigahackles..i my self feel like dropping some flows on this tune..kinda wish i produced this..lol great work again @mindseye-music

Thanks for the positivity @hilladigahackles! And it's an honor to be compared to Future Islands! I wonder, when you say you hear room for lyrics...would that be male or female vocals?

i could hear either actually!

Great track! When them drums kick in it really gets you bouncing. The lead synth is a really nice melody. The only thing I'd change is maybe lower the bass, but then it could be just my headphones being bass heavy thats making me think that. Overall really enjoyed the track. Cool melodies and the speech at the start fits perfectly

Thanks @fresheiremusic, I'll keep that in mind. I don't necessarily feel like the bass is too heavy, so yes I think that might be the headphones ;)

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Very nice track. I love the choice of sounds in this. The chosen sounds fit the feel and title of the track perfectly. I can picture sitting on a beach somewhere on an island chilling out listening to this. I'm not sure where to critique it to be honest, I really enjoyed it and the feeling it gave me of a summer holiday. Good job!

Sounds optimistic! Thank you! Hopefully I have a better chance in this round of the Steemit Music League Challenge.

peace

nice record man. very inspirational, the instrumental hold much emotion. Powerful message my guy. the 2nd verse speaks most to me..

"imma rap for free, spread the message i believe"

such a telling line man, We as artist are in such a vulnerable place when we speak our real ambitions, joys and fear through sonics. The money is secondary when inspiring is your passion. so true. I've been independently touring for 5 years now. while the money doesn't add up... the impact made on the lives touched is priceless!!

i have the utmost respect for genuine rhymers. thanks for keeping true to the essence of our craft! stay the course.

"They loving the division of us"... this statement is the 1st step to unifying. ONENESS!

Wow I'm so happy that this really resonated with you! It's always nice to be appreciated for doing it for the music. There's way too many artists out there trying to shame free music to get us to conform which is so toxic

Truth is spoken my guy... Keep it true to the heart.. All else will fall in place!

eyy exactly

Hi, this is my entry for this week!... https://dsound.audio/#/@nousiaoficial/blood-cum--powder I'd like to join #beatbattle as well. Cheers!

Thanks for your submission. ;-) Go here: https://steemit.com/beatbattle/@chiefmappster/beat-battle-league-or-s2-r3 for round 3 of the Beat Battle.

It is not easy to do it, you have to have good presentation. Good voice. I congratulate you for your effort. I do not sing but I join the challenge even if I do not do it perfectly.

Here's my entry for the SML challenge.

Happy Angel is off of Second Womb's 013th Ep. My personal favorite project of ours. This song celebrates the life of Ida Self, my late aunt. These lyrics spilled from me shortly after her passing.... ❤

Enjoy

https://steemit.com/dsound/@wolfnworbeikood/happy-angel