Subadult Mole Snake rescued near Malmesbury (2017-01-24)

in #snake6 years ago

I was called out to remove this young Mole Snake from someone's yard near Malmesbury today.

As I got there a neighbor was about to kill the snake with a shovel, luckily I was able to stop him, capture it, and then talk to them about snakes & snake safety afterwards.

--

20170124-subadult-mole-snake-rescued-near-malmesbury-western-cape.jpg

Mole Snakes are found in a variety of habitats - even mountainous regions and deserts - but they're particularly common in sandy scrub-covered and grassveld regions.

They spend most of their time underground, pushing their way through soft sand in search of moles and other rodents.

Juvenile (young) mole snakes have a variety of patterns and colors that they lose completely once they reach adulthood.

Viviparous, Mole Snakes give live birth to anywhere between 25-50 babies in late summer.

Find out more about this species here.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6dea65