[Korea College Club Q&A] 16. What are your opinions on the #metoo movement?

in #sndbox6 years ago

IMG_1793.JPG


Question

What do you think about the #metoo movement?

IMG_3144.PNG


@highyoonzi

IMG_2202.JPG

In my opinon, the #metoo movement is having a positive effect on ending sexism. Sexism has a long history and it can't be changed by a few incidents. It is meaningful to start with little changes and rising awareness. These days people are much more aware of what they are saying these days.

People around me say stuff such as 'Is this sexual assualt too?' and most of them actually are. It is meaningful that people are getting more sensitive and careful. But it's a shame that the 'Pense rule' is a thing now against these movements. That's also sexism because it excludes women from social and economical activities.

@devi1714

IMG_1734.JPG

I'm still trying to understand this completely and what the implications are, but here is my short thought.
Overall I think that we will see and increase I'm gender equality (or decreases in difference of rights) from this movement.

However after reading some articles I also think that currently it isn't everything that we need. #metoo is empowering both mean and women (although many guys don't see this) in a good way. But it's enhancing gender equality while working away at generation equality/respect. Feminists have been working for decades to try and achieve (different goals, but in the end) equality.

This new movement has such a drastic change in both aim and scope from the older feminist movements and risked being dismissed as 'just another wave' or being looked over all together.
What I mean is that this may not bring about permanent change. The changes feminists have been working towards for decades appear to be getting destroyed by this new movement which is incorporating nothing from the past. But I do hope it works out and that I am wrong.

@williampark

IMG_2232.JPG

It was sad to see the #metoo movement but I= think this is an opportunity. Till now there have been lots of controversies over women but there weren't actual answers for it. It's time to cut out the rotten flesh and make a change in society. It is not a perfect phase but I reckon lots of the sexism is going to be reduced. There is definitely a change happening. I think the #metoo movement will play a role in ending sexism.

@katechoi

IMG_1783.JPG

The #metoo movement is not playing a role in ending sexism. It's a movement of prohibiting the sexual assaults of both sexes. It's not a movement to stop interacting with women. I believe in equalism rather than feminism, and I wish more male victims would stand out too.

@zoethehedgehog

IMG_2892.PNG

The #metoo movement is are stopping sexism. Respect comes from fear. It is crucial to know that 'It's actually horrifying to be revealed as a sex offender' for men. It's all part of the process of changing the society.

@winnie98

IMG_2807.JPG

I think the #metoo movement is playing an important role in stopping sexism. The problematic society will be revealed more and this wil change the male dominated society. The ones who talk about non-guilty men accused of rape are only rational when they talk bout those things. This shows their hypocrisy.

@iamtennis

IMG_1749.JPG

The #metoo movement is meaningful so the rape victims can raise their voices and helping them escape from their past traumas. There seems to be lots of people who ignore this. The ones who describe the victims as gold diggers are bullies. I also know that there are controversies over the pense rule.

Not giving direct orders to the female worker because it can be misunderstood as harassment. If the work is undone because of the indirect orders, the fault will be on the women again. Why can't they just understand it's the sex offenders that are causing the problem?

I can speak about these problems now. Why did you touch our thighs when the girls were alone, hapikido director? We were in elementary school. Why did you touch my hand when I was in highschool, teacher?

I was frozen for a bit then I moved to another desk, so you went back to the lecture desk. Why did my workplace ask me to wear short pants to get more customers? Why do people say that my actions were problematic when I talk about these problems?

From a very young age I thought this is the normal way how people treat me and I shouldn't talk about it. I realized from the #metoo movement that sexual harassments shouldn't be 'somebody's business.' The offender should go through law suits and the victims have the right to be free from their traumas.

They all are innocent until proven guilty. But not me. I am a liar until I am proven honest. (Louise O’Neill - Asking for it)

@septemberbre2ze

IMG_1738.JPG

I think positively of the #metoo movement. I was clueless about why the parents of the past generation were so against their kids wanting to be an actor or a singer. It was because of sexual offenders in the industry. My mom told me there is a change in this world because the current sex offender issues would've gone down in the past. Human righs are crucial and it's a right that should be kept.

The ones who violated these rules should be punished in the right manner. I hope the world will become normal by the #metoo movement, changing the mindset of sex offenders.