You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey! Did you know I´m a @Sndbox steward? | Ask me anything

in #sndbox6 years ago

Hi @anomadsoul!
I have a new project that may be a good fit for sndbox. ???
I own http://MajorNews.com and am interested in building a community around News.

  • As we all know true journalism is all but dead. Just a handful of corporations own nearly all the major "news" outlets. It seems most if not all of "mainstream" dinosaur media does is push their agendas and propaganda.
  • What if news became decentralized? Tied to the blockchain, so stories could not be disappeared or altered?

I've done 2 posts so far...

We are not programming yet, so it's too early for utopia-io.
What's my next step to see if sndbox is interested in incubating this idea?

Sort:  

Steem is the perfect type of technology to support this.

Prior to discovering Steem (or the full implications of blockchain for that matter) I had a very similar idea. Unfortunately at that time, in order to both construct and supplement a system which rewards users for their contributions, we would need a TON of development and a heavy budget. Then last year I discovered Steem and realized that they have already done the heavy lifting on that front!

Good luck on getting your project launched. I have been fleshing out a couple projects ideas as well, one which is starting to get some traction and a small grass roots team around it. Planning to start development next month.

When I found Steem, I too was out and about looking to revamp my website(s). What if you tied ____fill in the blank____ to a blockchain. Then looked at some of the things that would fit well there. There were enough possibilities I wanted to do something on the blockchain. So that's when I was looking for a way to use blockchain which led to my discovery of Steemit.

  • It seems a lot of people aren't happy with the way the blog experiment has gone. I say, just hang around for a year and you won't recognize this platform. Yes blogging will still be available with all it's quirks, but there are a lot of us entrepreneur types looking at other use cases that would be great tied to a blockchain...

So true. And that is what makes me so exciting about this type of technological and ideological system. There are a lot of people out there looking to solve a plethora of current issues by implementing this new model (one based on decentralization and shared contributions).

I see the next 5 years as being all about experimentation (for the most part). Trying different things, seeing what sticks, resolving issues and trying again. Then the following decades after that I think we will see mass global adoption and deprecation of these old 'centralized' models and legacy technologies.