Winter Sucks And Here's Why

in #snow7 years ago

 There seems to be two ends of the spectrum when it comes to winter; you either love it and can't wait to play in the snow, or you absolutely despise it and want to curl up in your bed until March. Personally, I love when it's 90 degrees outside. I would much rather deal with 95 degree weather than weather in the negatives.

It's cold. 

Let's start with the obvious; it is way too cold. I could complain more if I wasn't the person who wears only a sweatshirt when it's in the negatives (stupid, right?); so, when I have to go outside it seems like it's the end of the world. Also, 20 layers of clothes looks unflattering on anyone, so let's just skip back to July when it's acceptable to wear shorts and a t-shirt.

It gets dark way too early.

Let's be honest, when it's time to turn the clocks back, one more hour of sleep is amazing. On the other hand, getting dark at five o'clock is a whole different story. Everyone knows what it feels like to go to the grocery store at 4, and walking out at 5 to complete darkness. Its not a pleasant feeling. The only good thing about it being dark so early? The simple answer: It's easier to see the hot light from the Walmart parking lot.

Snow. 

Yes, snow is pretty and it's fun to play with for about two minutes, but it always comes at the most inconvenient time. Why can't it snow on Christmas like it's supposed to? Instead, we get blizzards in the middle of March. It ultimately does more harm than good by causing accidents. Building snowmen are fun and throwing snowballs is fun, but when you get to the point numb because you're so cold, there's no going back.

Ice. 

With the snow and cold ultimatley comes ice. It causes more car accidents and people are bound to get injured by slipping on an icy sidewalk. I know at some point, I'm going to make a fool out of myself by slipping down the sidewalk at the busiest time, just so every single person can watch. Scraping the snow and ice off is a whole different story too. Who wants to scrape all the ice off their car at 7 in the morning? Nobody.

Dry skin.

I'm sure I'm not the only one to say that my hands turn into sand paper over the months of November to March. It seems to be that even the massive amounts of hand lotion can't help after a certain point. Not only just hands, but lips too; I always have at least one stick of chapstick on me at all times to make sure my lips don't peel off completely. As soon as the weather starts to turn, my arms and legs get unbearably itchy. I'm also fall victim to nose bleeds throughout the winter. It just so happens to be, at the most inconvenient and awkward times, my nose starts gushing blood. 

Image credit: Pexels