my first bitcoin transaction w a friend

in #socalhive3 years ago (edited)

6846CC01-56F7-4251-9499-42DBEB20770B.jpeg

SoCal Hive had a meetup and we took some liberty in enjoying the occasion to meet during lockdown. I’ve meant to write of it but I’ve been suffering from lockdown brain. My California consists of many days melting into weeks and weeks melting into months. Our meetup was last December and this write up is long overdue.

Here’s a couple of my favorite steemit-hive people, @derekrichardson and @brian.rrr who kindly met up at my favorite place, Bob’s Big Boy in Toluca Lake. There was no indoor or outdoor dining but there was car hop service. We decided to be wild and all hop in my car. We had burgers and shared what our respective year of covid lives was like. D was enjoying being D, traveling, hiking, and panning for gold. B was enjoying his family. And me? I was sheltering solo on beast mode, staying home most of the time teaching online and occasionally going out to check out a rally or protest. It was great to breakout of our bubble worlds and share some time together. We caught up with Steemit and Hive news; talked crypto, politics, and life. My favorite part was making my first crypto transaction with a friend.

JNET: “Reimburse the burger in bitcoin and you don’t have to pay the full amount. Just show me how.”

D showed how easy it was to pay and receive bitcoin. I celebrated the milestone on social media.

6266CF21-6495-49A9-8581-FB1DE15F04B4.jpeg

Bitcoin was trading around $19k in December. It’s extra nice to look at how that burger has blossomed. Oooh la la.

14635A1D-7C80-49B4-AE2F-276D2ECC4100.jpeg

Wow!

I’m so grateful to have my steemit/hive friends opening such a world to me that I don’t enjoy with normies. People still laugh or ask, “What’s bitcoin?” when I tell them they can pay for their piano lesson in crypto. B says he will pay me in bitcoin when his kids are old enough to start lessons.

We had a great time. I hope we meetup again soon. I wonder if there is a ton of new people checking out social media on the blockchain. Bitcoin is making the news on a daily basis since it hit $50k. Maybe this is the year crypto finds wings? Are there more people signing onto Steemit, Hive, and what is Blurt? I have some catching up to do.

We’ve been in lockdown for almost a year. Here’s to hoping that we all can soon enjoy the warm weather meeting with friends freely and businesses opening up.

JNET

Sort:  

Happy to hear that you all had a good time. That's one meet-up I would have loved to attend. Here's an old bitcoin receipt I hung on to:
photo_oct_04_6_34_00_pm.jpg

That was for a pizza and two beers in Denver on 10/04/2014. It's a bit over $1300 today.

Take care! See you on Hive and Pokemon-Go :-D

You were missed!

I hope you’re enjoying Texas and having more freedom to roam for Pokémon. Did you get snow?

That receipt is awesome. It’s another sentence in the book of bitcoin saying the future is bright and promising. I feel like we’re still pioneers. Even though bitcoin is over ten years old, it’s just barely sprouting feet. So happy that I have a tiny group of friends to share the journey.

You and your sweetie take care!

J

Thanks. We are enjoying Texas. Who would have thought that the light dusting of snow that started on Valentine's day (as I was cooking steak and lobster on the grill...yummy) would keep on dumping and lead to rolling blackouts and no water the following day? It wasn't until Feb 17th that we got water back, and then we had to boil water for a few days until the system was back to normal.

photo_feb_15_7_52_04_am.jpg

Take care! Give our best to the So-Cal Hive. And start looking into Defi...that's the future. Bankless is a great place to start.

I’ve been hearing about Defi for a year now. I need to learn how to swim in the deep end of the pool. Do you ever get on the discord chat? Next time I log on, I will have questions!

Glad you got to enjoy Valentines Day and that your water got back to normal. My friend in Houston hasn’t had hot water in two weeks! I subscribed to the link. Thx!

J

Sorry to hear about your friend. Haven’t been on Discord in ages.

We gotta plan another meetup soon!

Weather is going to get nice soon. Any ideas where to meet?

J

Great times! Look forward to the next one! 😎

I've never paid anyone with btc, yet. I love that you'll take btc in exchange for piano lessons. That's awesome! Looks like you're just a couple hours away from me. Good to know I'm not alone in SoCal...in regards to crypto and sanity