Mulberry Tree Pollards Build a Squash Wattle

in #socalsteemit5 years ago (edited)

20190619_171853.jpg

Yesterday, I pruned the fruiting Mulberry, and guided my son to weave a delightful Wattle Fence round to contain future summer squash.

20190619_174029.jpg

At first, he drove in 24" pieces of rebar about a foot apart, in the rounded pattern I suggested.

As I pruned and then stripped the Mulberry suckers, Dear Son wove them into the curved Wattle and tamped them down with a heavy hammer.

20190619_171939.jpg

Thus does a bushy, rapid growing volunteer tree, our Fruiting Mulberry, multitask to provide not only fruit, but also shade, and "pollarding": grooming a tree to produce useful building poles.

20190619_171915.jpg

We clipped all the remaining greenery from this mild pruning, and tossed all of this lively green mulch into the new Squash Wattle. Theoretically, it would have been wiser to line the bottom with hardwood in order to Hugelculture this planting.

Let the perfect be, not the Enemy--but the --Enema of Good. May everything follow freely and effortlessly from my plantings lol!!!!

May all beings dwell in Love, Kindness, Peace and Joy.

Love,cat

@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

I love your garden it is very pretty and peaceful looking! :) That weaved border looks awesome and makes for a nifty and natural retaining wall.

Thanks! I sometimes lurk at my bedroom window in order to witness neighbors enjoying what I've done out there. We've been putti g out free sacks of lemons, and now it's time to switch to cut herbs and plant starts.

#foodisfree

"I will cultivate my garden."--Voltaire

What a cool idea! It looks great. I can't wait to see pictures of your squash!

Thanks darlin! So far all the squash photo ops are happening in the backyard veg compound lol but if and when anything starts squashing around up front, you will be among the first to know! Tonnes o luv

You have such a beautiful yard!
I sure hope all is ok after that big quake!?
Thinking of you ❤

Thank you so much! We got a long, deep rolling sensation oo la la!, I likened it to a waterbed. It did make the cuckoo clock pendulum swing, tho! I feel terrible for all those near to the epicenter. it must have been terrifying! Note to self: restock Emergency sticks and prioritize water storage!

How you been? I have been glazed eye doing earthy stuff. Tonnes of love xoxo

Congratulations @creationofcare! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

Thank you! We built, I posted, and life moved on at inexplicable speed, and now , yay! Thank you

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

The enema of good! 🤣 What a productive permaculture practice. I love it. I found a few black walnut yearling trees that I'll be planting mulberries with to negate their toxins. They'll most likely become pollarded trees to create bushy growth and lots of wood production in our food forest. Thanks for the cool idea!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Lol yay, so glad my joke "came out alright"!

Thanks so much for the curation! I love the permaculture concept of using what I have, and multitasking. I really want this additional growth tier to filter down into the bed against the sidewalk, feeding the thirsty guava tree.

I am excited about your implementation with the pollard and wattle with your trees!!!

Mmmmm - this is such a rich and beautiful post, thank you so much for sharing and inspiring, @creationofcare!!

Thank you, @clareartista i am so happy to connect with you so meaningfully!!!! Blessings!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much!!!!!