The Philco 46-1213. First consumer radio with FM receiver

in #socalsteemit6 years ago



Hello and welcome to old things that still work.

This is a Philco Model 46-1213 Console Radio and Phonograph. This was the first FM Radio sold in the United states, and was made in 1946. This is a tube radio with a 10 watt output and a very smooth bassy audio output, even today. My father purchased this radio after he returned from the Pacific Theater of war, and it sat in the living room right up until now.

Phico, was based in Philedelphia PA and made radios and batteries. They were state of the art at the time, and this Walnut Console Radio and Phono was near the top of their product line. This radio used 11 tubes and a set of pushbutton switches, and received AM, the brand new FM (88-108mc), and shortwave(9.3 to 14.5 mc).

As a child, I would often listen to shortwave on this, hearing weather reports from ships and other cross continental shows such as the BBC and Voice of America. There. Was. No. Internet...



At some point my mother got tired of the battered and scratched exterior and painted it with a gold wash, followed by Avocado Green.


The phonograph is a Colaro 4 speed Hi fidelity turntable with a Diamond needle. The radio tuner is AM/FM/SW on 12 bands. Both tuner and turntable are in working condition.



The backside is missing a panel... I may find it in one of the garages... When turned on, it takes a bit for it to warm up, and produces a very pleasing "Hot Tube" smell that only old analog electronics can produce. It's a warm dusty smell with hot metal and glass... Hard to describe.

There are many markings for the analog enthusiasts.




My first foray into electronics involved this radio. My father would hand me a bunch of tubes from it and I would ride my bike to the loal Thrifty Drugstore and put them in the tube tester, 1 at a time, until I found which ones were bad, and then dig in the box to find matching ones to purchase, and then bring them back home.

This radio is complete and running, and I have all the paperwork that came with it.





Below are two Videos, One is of the turntable spinning, the other is the radio.





I am actually looking to sell this piece of broadcast history to someone that can give it some TLC, and will use or display it. Comes with everything you see plus a fresh Diamond needle, if I can find it...

All imagery by @dawg-boy

Imagery via iPhone8.

If you enjoy my original content, please upvote, resteem, and follow me @dawg-boy

#socalsteemit is building and supporting the Steem platform community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us@SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

That is an amazing piece of history. Amazing that it still partially works. My father still has a old SABA Schwarzwald which he somehow has been able to keep in working condition. It is always surprising when you open up these old machines and see the mechanics and electronics inside.

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

"Hot Tube Smell" is a great name for a band ; )

Wow that is a great piece of working history. My grandperants had one like that and the sound was fantastic.

Interested in reliving that sound???

To far away fot me to buy it mate:(

Ha Ha! Shipping would be major... I might figure out how to attach an Ipod to it...

That could be cool.