You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing the Social Blockchain Working Group

My only input would be to suggest that those involved at the highest levels of this new chain from the devs to the witnesses should not be anonymous. That is to say, they can have any handle they like but their real names should be attached to it and they should not be allowed to have more than one profile. So no one involved at the top of this gets hundreds and thousands of sock-puppet accounts to spew toxicity and propaganda.

Sort:  

I can see why you desire that, but how do you think that could actually be done? The technology doesn't allow those restrictions on users on Steem atm. Do you suggest we install keyloggers on these guys' computers and stream them to Dtube?

Whether it can be done or not doesn't interest me as much as those that do such things come to a clear understanding that it's unethical. And if they can't see that they are mired in delusion which isn't my problem...I get that this type of thing happens in the real world, too, by shell companies and proxies but it's not ethical there either. In the end, do what you want but please don't turn around and talk ethics--attacking Mr.Sun for his self-serving ethics. Again I was only talking about the hierarchical elite who are in positions of authority and never said they shouldn't have handles...
In the end, I've made a decision not to have prolonged dialogue on SM unless there is clear and substantial video evidence that people are somewhat close to what they represent themselves to be.

Well, I have lately come to a somewhat startling conclusion to me that the legacy witnesses and most substantial stakeholders on Steem have long strongly centralized governance, although I still reckon that preferable to the unitary centralization sought by Sun.

I do not recommend unethical behaviour, and I'll leave my record on Steem to stand evidence of my own behaviour. I don't disagree with wanting folks to behave ethically, but my point was more that such is unenforceable here, as IRL. The whole point of DLTs to my understanding is to eliminate the need for policing, to make it impossible to lie, cheat, and steal due to the parameters of the code limiting such behaviour.

Insofar as Steem hasn't, Steem has failed. We can't expect only honest folks to be on Steem, and I haven't noted that happening either. So, the point is to not demand behaviour that can only be enforced with legacy political mechanisms, such as police, and insofar as such behaviour isn't necessitated by the DLT the blockchain has failed to enable society to be ethical by allowing unethical behaviour then to fix the DLT.

I don't think the solution is pledges of chastity. I think it's belts. If Steem doesn't have belts well designed enough, we should tend to that, not demand purity vows and rings. IMHO, of course. Some folks prefer unethical behaviour, but I don't reckon I'm talking to one of them.

Edit: I seem to be a noob, but dunno what you mean by 'SM' at the end of your comment.