You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing the Social Blockchain Working Group

in #socialblockchain4 years ago

I want to like this but i have some issues. In this sensitive time where several groups are already trying to figure out solutions to the apparent hostile activities of Tron that apparently pushed many of you from steemit inc... you decide to put more uncertainty into this whole situation. I'm guessing it's not intentional and I'm uncertain if it will be fully problematic.

You gave Not actual solutions but an announcement that you're gonna take a hack at it... with no time frame and no specifics.

I think many of you are very capable obviously and learning from steem's journey could probably lead you to do wonderful things. And in theory you could have something soooo much better ... on paper. But that doesn't always translate... and here you cast doubt on what everyone else is ACTUALLY doing... not planning on doing, but really actually doing right now. It just feels like I worry that people hear "hey don't try to fix anything we're gonna give a shot at it eventually". There is something to be said about everything steem can do even in it's flawed way and I don't want to see people stop posting just because they think another group is gonna have something better... MAYBE... EVENTUALLY.

I support groups working on different things but I just want the rest of the audience reading this to understand that this isn't a concrete promise, this isn't an actual blockchain, this isn't anything until it actually happens. We can cheer them on and then let the market place of ideas decide if their time was worth it.

Sort:  

I would be much more excited about it if they were working on ways to improve steem, not kill it in a roundabout way.

Come on.. Someone else is destroying it and we all know him

@wattersblue,

Agreed with you! Adsolutely!

"...here you cast doubt on what everyone else is ACTUALLY doing..."

I am a bit mystified at this doubt claim. All I read they are doing is meeting to discuss how the code can be improved. If that somehow casts doubt on Steempeak and the excellent work you've been doing there, I missed that completely. If you're referring to casting doubt on some other actions being taken, I missed how their statement is a comment on anything else, except that there's almost certainly going to be a hardfork, and we'd better be ready.

"...meeting over the last few days to discuss various ideas for improving existing blockchain frameworks."

I am kind of surprised at the strong reactions I am reading in the comments here, and really feel I'm missing some essential information. That makes me feel incompetent to rationally judge the current situation.

Any light you could share would be very appreciated.

Thanks!

This is exactly how we meant this to be interpreted. Definitely not trying to confuse people or encourage them to stop posting. Just wanted to get information out there as soon as we could.

I reckon open communications is critical more than ever now that we face overt and covert threats on Steem. Folks may not think of it, but it's almost a certainty that others are deceiving us regarding their intentions and purposes during this crisis.

Folks that state clearly what they intend and do that will provide obvious refugia when the confusion of deception stirs the community.

Thanks!