This is the point when I realized I'm actually getting in trouble for writing to much, for once!

in #socialized2 years ago

What are some of the reasons people delay or avoid medical care? Describe 2-3 barriers to visiting a health professional and explain how they affect help-seeking behavior. Discuss potential problems related to delaying or avoiding medical care as well as potential solutions for improving help-seeking behavior.

End your discussion post with one well thought out question related to this unit from which your colleagues can formulate a response or generate further discussion.

Your Discussion should be at least 150 words in length but not more than 300 words. When you use an informational source, such as the textbook, be sure to share the link to the source you used.

I live in a country that has socialized medical care and you would think most people would seek help from a doctor when needed, you would be wrong. I have often been to the doctor for one reason or another, usually to do with asthma and I always hated going because once you have had 10,000 needles/I.V.'s+ and a whole host of different medical procedures all of which are painful or make you feel worse, you grow to look for any reason not to go to the doctor. I guess in my case I'm a glutton for punishment or the fact that when I go to a doctor or a Hospital, I know I will be seen, I may wait 4+ hours but as long as it is not life threatening, I don't mind waiting and not having to prove my insurance before help is given like they have been known to do in America and other countries. But alas it has made me complacent, for instance when I lived with my parents they could tell when it was bad and would take me to the hospital, while when I was and am living alone I usually left it to the last minute and an ambulance is needed, my problem was from one moment to the next I had learned inconsistently how to control my breathing so not to have a hospital appointment immediately. What I should have done was after 3 days of controlled breathing, I should have visited sooner, but like most people I hate waiting in hospital and lying to yourself is easier then you think about how well or unwell you are. Most times when I have seen a doctor, I'm in hospital with needles, I.V.'s, tubes, and breathing apparatuses all over me saying, "do you feel better"? I always thought, "No", but I also thought why did I let it get this bad again? I hate pain like most people and have learned over time, when your sick, it is going to be painful and I put off going to doctors as I'm a coward or perhaps it is a learned response to the inevitable. I do not feel like this anymore, nor do I suffer like I used too but even now I'm still putting off going to the doctor for an ailment to do with my right arm, it is not 100% and it will take at least 6 months of physio to make right.

Now I identified the most common problem with people and doctors, complacency, a willingness to suffer on rather then seek help with my illness or alternatively, Emotional Response to Health Threat, Fear, Anxiety and Depression and a big part of it is Avoidance Coping (Ogden, J 2019). Admittedly, I do not get depressed anymore as that came down to diet which I discovered by accident while trying the carnivorous diet (mostly meat and greens) and my gum disease I had for 40 years disappeared completely as well as the floaters in my eyes. I guess the reason why I don't rate doctors or health professionals much is not one of them ever told me my diet is fundamental in being happier and apart from asthma I have healed myself more then they ever did. And let's please not forget that we all knew what heard immunity was until it was irrelevant for 2 years.

When you know your doctor or the the Governments health professionals are blatantly lying about the next horrible virus that only kills 10% of how many they said would die, how long will you lie to yourself before you think maybe their all making it up as they go along? (I had 2 different Covid shots and a booster, no more).

Ogden, Jane, 2019, The Psychology of Health and Illness: An Open Access Course, These stages have been applied to health using the Self Regulatory Model of Illness Behavior (see Figure 1).

Sort:  

Dont steal others content

Source of potential text plagiarism

Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others' work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered fraud.
Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise
Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.