Update on my TikTok experiment, 3.3 million views now!

in #socialmedia4 years ago (edited)

Last month, I did a post about my recent experience playing with TikTok. I still find it fun making content and browsing through the content of the people I'm following. I still believe it's a platform that has a great potential for obtaining a large audience.

I also noticed that @coruscate has also joined TikTok and has managed to go Viral in just one month with one video reaching 9 million views overnight! Wow!

Since my last update, I was trying to figure out how TikTok's algorithm works but I still haven't found any magic formula, some of my videos got less than 1000 views, many are reaching the tens of thousands, others are reaching hundreds of thousands views.

The pen spinning video that got 1.4 million views last month has now gone up to 3.3 million views. My number of followers have increased from 8405 to 18.8K and the number of likes on my content went from 173.9K to 353.8K today.

My video with 3.3M views

My TikTok profile

Checkout my TikTok profile

What I noticed is visitors are coming in waves, first I had a huge amount from Russia, then Vietnam, UK and now India. It also seems like posting multiple videos one after an other does not mean both will get the same amount of views even if they are the same topic. Posting at different time of the day does seem to attract people from different countries, which does make sense.

Things that do seem to work are one of these points or a combo of multiple of them:

  • making duets / reactions
  • making duets / reactions with popular content creators on their popular video
  • choosing a popular sound track to add to the video
  • posting consistently, once a day seems a good number for me and my niche
  • using popular tags

But even if you are doing all these, there are other unknown criterias that will make the algorithm decide not to boost your video.

I'm now after some Hive merch to include in my videos as promotional props 😁 instead of always opening a Hive page on a computer screen in the background like here:

Promoting Hive on TikTok

Join me on TikTok and start do funny videos while trying to promote Hive too.

Sort:  

Nice going. That is a serious view count.

Welcome to Hive.

Welcome to Hive too :-D

Getting viral on videos about Crypto is more difficult, but if you are creative and can produce something funny then it should be possible.
I've been trying to do more subtle promotion by wearing Steem T-Shirt or now having a Hive blog in the background of the video.

Wow! Amazing result!
Got to find out about this ticking tok! LoL

Glad you're having fun on there, and looks like you're doing pretty well too XD

Need to keep busy during the quarantine period lol

That's a pretty big number! Congrats. I agree, it has a large potential to reach an audience. Imagine if we tik tok about hive and it goes viral :O

I need to try again. I used it a little but never gained any traction, although I admit it was a half-hearted attempt

Give yourself one or two weeks at 30 minutes a day, browse content, follow content creators and see how things are working on the platform.

Then for one month, post one to two short videos (10-15 seconds) following some rules that seems to work like making duet, using tags that are popular, using popular sound etc... Be yourself, try to be fun.

You can promote HIVE everyday and onboard many. Increase in user will mean more $$$

Some of my most recent videos (see screenshot above) have a Hive website on the computer screen in the background.

My current profile is for pen spinning niche. Once I get the hang of it, I might create another account for Hive and other stuffs.

Awesome. I'm still there barely getting 100 views per tiktok lolol

Collaboration is most important, try doing duet and reactions on other tiktokers' videos. Or use sounds from other users. Post every day, change strategy until it works.

will do that. thanks for the advice :D

Good place for active Hive promotion.

The more people start trying, the better

Very nice video, really i like it. Welcome on hive.

Thank you