You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Other Me: How Much Of Your Virtual Identity Is Real?

in #socialmedia6 years ago

Completely 100%, spot on, realness all the way surfermarly.

I left Facebook for that very reason that it all just felt like a giant 'paint my life perfect' kinda affair. Completely fake. It is a strange thing but most of the people I knew on Fbook were all just posted their successes in these throw-away short posts with pics. These were mainly people I met while in university who had moved away. While I wanted to have a true catch-up, ask them if they had read any great new books, if they'd achieved that dream of writing like Kerouac while travelling, all they seemed to want was congrats on the latest big life-event.

This is why I love steemit. It is real here, in the comments people talk about their passions, get in debates and friendships seem as real as they could possibly be in a virtual world.

There is absolutely no difference between Marly online and offline. You won't see me smiling when I'm afraid, and you won't see my lying in order to get more street cred.

Fckin awesome. We need more real people around in this insta 'grab your attention' Instagram world.