I gotta rant about Twitter.

in #socialmedia6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 10.15.22 PM.png

I'm trying to create a strategy that will help me afford a full-time travel lifestyle where I can earn enough from my computer to continually travel and hopefully find a place in this world that brings me the joy I seek, so I can one day settle down (somewhat) and live in one town.

Part of doing this for me is creating accounts on Twitter and using those to promote my brands. I'm not going to link to them here because I believe crafty Twitter is tracking inbound links and penalizing accounts that get traffic from sites like this, which I'm sure they've blacklisted.

I don't like Twitter but I feel it's useful for the particular type of strategy I'm trying to develop which entails creating and developing a brand as a "Travel Influencer" whereby I can get free room & board at various hotels, resorts, and cruises in exchange for my promoting them on my accounts. Twitter (among other platforms) is seen as a primary marker of credibility for many big companies (and small ones). I also plan on offering social media marketing services to brands who also would like to build a platform on Twitter and other sites.

So, tonight, in trying to work on my platforms, I see Twitter notifying me to read their rules about harassment and privacy. I oblige and click the "more info" link because I believe they're tracking that as well. If I don't click their link about rules, harassment, etc, I'm probably put on a higher-risk list. So, I'm reading it and it is extensive, vague and clearly slanted towards protecting the progressive SJW type of ideologies and demoting the "free speech" that could actually challenge them.

Here are the links to the rules pages I'm talking about:
Twitter Rules
Twitter Media Policy
Twitter Trends FAQ -- about how they actively prevent certain topics from trending.
Username Squatting

Some of these policies like the gore, violence, direct threats and username squatting I think make sense. Other stuff, I feel is heavily biased and makes me not only not want to use Twitter (even though I still will for the time being), but it makes me worried that I could accidentally trip some switch on their backend and cause my brands or my client's brands to be banned. I probably won't have this happen as I've been on Twitter for about 8 years on various accounts and I know pretty well what to do and what not to do.

I'm just peeved as this is somewhat a conflict that I must manage and it's another example of the leverage that big monolithic entities have over us, and me in particular.

That's all I have to say about this right now, but I'm glad I could get it out. I'm thankful for Steemit because it's a place where I can express views that might otherwise get me shut down on bigger sites. I just commented on another Steem post a few minutes ago where the OP was suggesting that cryptocurrencies will hurt the little guy in the long run. I see it the other way around and have for a while. I see it doing nothing but helping the little guy in the long run.

I guess time will tell.

Peace and love, ya'll.

~ @WriteWords

Sort:  

best of luck with your traveling. keep blogging to keep us posted.

Congratulations @writewords! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @writewords! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!