Movie Review: Sonic.....BOOO!!!

in #sonic4 years ago

cdc03e80bac52a5386ec6a5704bd89dd0a1f2392.jpg

Anyone know who or what the heck that creature is? Sonic the hedgehog, apparently. As an avid player of ALL the old school Sega Genesis games (minus Sonic spinball,an epic fail by different game developers at the time), I've spent hundreds of hours probably playing all the Sonic games on my Sega Genesis as a kid. So, yeah I know all about it the characters & what they actually looked like.....such as Dr Robotnik:

20200314_125720.jpg
Left - old school fat, evil Dr R. Right, trim eggman ZERO RESEMBLANCE.

In my first photograph, you see a very disappointing "sonic" creature with big baby eyes, "I am so confused and don't know what a RING IS." He's also a fighter not a runner with a human companion.

Sonic looks freaking pathetic. The only thing done halfway correct was his spinball. His eyes look needy and childish. Like puss in boots....

maxresdefault.jpg

The plot was poorly constructed. No introduction of the other main characters, such as Tails/ Miles or Knuckles. No adequate portrayal of our beloved nostalgic levels, bosses, chaos emeralds, multiple characters, uses of power ups, etc. "Sonic" was portrayed as essentially a person of sorts, an human being, who would wear clothing, go to biker bars, etc..

Dr. R was poorly acted and came across as a cheesy villain who interacted with the incompetent local PD of Sonic's town "Green Hill." His attacks were poorly executed. Again, sonic rarely fought back against Dr R who is THE BOSS in this game series. The occasional attack Sonic would dole out was simply shitty, unappealing CGI.

This series of games were very important to me and I played and beat all them, in all scenarios and characters available to play as and chaos emeralds. (Except the afore mentioned spinball game.)

I could go on. However, don't waste your time or money going to this. Luckily I had a gift card and usually I am not vocal about dislikes in a movie but I didn't bother holding back period. There weren't many people in the theater; however this film will make the current adolescent generation very misinformed about this awesome series that I played on the Sega Genesis and in an adaptation for the Nintendo DS Lite.

All I can say is BOO, LAME, WASTE!
Thanks for reading my "rotten tomatoes" of sorts review. If you love the retro sonic games, you'll be sorely disappointed with this movie!

20190628_053502.jpg