Dear Steemians, please help me pay my friends' school fees.

in #sourcehope6 years ago (edited)

Good evening Great Steemians, this is @iamchijamz. I feel like I am having the worst day of my life today.

As most of you know, Am currently a final year microbiology student in Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, and we are currently writing our first semester exams.

I had a morning paper today, which was an overhauled revised and complicated exam, I was coming out of the hall today feeling depressed as to the complexity of questions I had to answer in today's exams and unsure of what the outcome might be, just then I met some of my colleagues outside, and as our norm is, I started asking them "How was the paper? " thinking that they will join me in my depression, to my utter dismay, I was met with a news that has kept me more depressed and has showed me that what I thought made me feel depressed was not even anything.

3 of my colleagues could not write today's papers because they couldn't meet up with the school fees payment.

Since I heard this news, I have just been thinking of how to go about this, as I feel that this not right .

I spoke with some of them and found out that they have some money at hand but not enough to make up for the fees.

IMG-20180319-WA0021.jpg
[I had to use a picture from our Department WhatsApp group because I couldn't go to the exam hall with my phone, as it is prohibited]

Meanwhile, I had met with @nairadaddy and @gloglo With my friends @donnest and @sammyswt at Owerri Steem Mega Meet-Up and we discussed about starting a project to help students who are in financial needs by bringing them to the steem blockchain and steemit platform and help them earn citation rewards, and the project which we have already started working on.

So I have decided to do something to help these people.

I have made a decision to be a voice for them,

I have a total of $7.6 SBD which when converted to Naira at #600/1 SBD as at today will be #4,560.
I am planning on donating this to my friends to help them pay their fees, this will not be enough to pay the school fees of one not to talk of 3 of them.

Basically, Igal Etim says she has >#14,000 and her fees is #36,000

Joseph Anyanwu has

#23,000 and his fees is #36,000

Grace Amaefule has

7,000 and her fees is #36,000

Totally, they need #64,000 to be able to pay up their fees and continue exams with us.

I already have #4,560 in my Steem Wallet plus #10,000 which is my savings that am willing to donate to them totalling #14,560.

We still need #49,440 to help pay up their fees, converting this value to Steem currency would be 82.4SBD

Am on soliciting on all well meaning Steemians to help me pay the school fees by donating to this cause.

You can help us make this happen in 3 ways.

  1. You can donate any amount of SBD to my account @iamchijamz with the memo @backtoschool (please note that am using this for now because the @backtoschool project account has not been activated and all excesses will be remitted back to the account once it's functional).

  2. You can upvote and resteem this post in order to gain more visibility and more curation rewards.

  3. You can make posts about this and send your earnings to @iamchijamz with the memo @backtoschool project, please use #sourcehope and #air-clinic tags in your post to get curated by source hope project led by @gloglo and air-clinic led by @nairadaddy . You can also help us in any way you think is possible.

This is my humble plea from the depth of my heart to the Steemit community to help me pay the school fees of my friends.

I am calling on well-able Nigerian Steemian to come to our aid and help us s3nd my friends back to school, to @surpassinggoogle,@gbenga @surfyogi @eurogee @tojukaka @samstickkz
@ejemai @camzy @ogowinner @smyle @euronation family, @ewuoso @gee1 @johalfiles @onos @flauwy, @liondani @domarth @dobartim @exyle @clio @sweetsssj @ned @dan @acidyo @aggroed @flagwhale @ackza @stellabelle
@sircork the founder of @YouAreHope foundation helping the poor across the globe and also the founder of @steemstarnetwork

Thank you so much for reading and on behalf of Igal, Joe and Grace, I thank you in advance for your help.

Sort:  

@YouAreHOPE Foundation will fund 50% of this initiative, and we wish you the best in achieving your goal here. Stay in school kids, it's imperative you continue your education, then use the wealth of your knowledge earned to share it with others and pass it on.

We have sent 40 steem, which is roughly equal to 40 SBD at the current time but we did not have SBD in our wallet today. Here is the wallet receipt.

Good luck!
@SirCork
Founder @YouAreHOPE Foundation
Founder @SteemStarNetwork
Steem Witness #71

I got a call from Diana (@steemcenturion) yesterday, that i should check my post, i tried but couldn't log in because of network impalements,this morning i logged in to see 40STEEM donated to help this project.

I am deeply grateful to @SirCork, you don't know me ,but you decided to help.

Thank you so much sir,

To all members of @youarehope foundation And @SteemStarNetwork, i thank you all.
We really appreciate.

We are happy to help. <3 Also, it's the @SteemStarNetwork, not the "smart" one. We are radio hosts, not rocket scientists :D

Thank you so much, Oh! I'll initiate the corrections immediately. Thanks again.

Helping as always, thank you so much

Charity with its boots on. Keep it up.

The march doesn't stop.

Thanks @youarehope for your selfless efforts in bringing back young minds to school, we really appreciate may the good Lord reward you abundantly

Hey @iamchijamz,
We are happy to help out in this project just to see people go backtoschool.
We know & believe that education is one of the steps towards happiness and good health.

Maximally Upvoted!

Thank you so much @air-clinic for your help and generous support, I specially want to thank @nairadaddy for accepting to help us in this project. Thank you so much sir

Hello @iamchijamz am sorry about what is happening in your school. We hope yo do our best in bring them back to school.

thank you so much @sourcehope for being a source of hope to us, I believe that Together we can achieve this feat, I want to extend my sincere gratitude to @gloglo for giving us the confidence to run this. Thank you so much ma.

Am so sorry dear, when I saw your post in our group chat, I didn't know it was this serious. I will donate 5SBD,upvote your post with 100%,resteem and share this with my friends, I totally support this..

Thank you so much dear, I really appreciate

This is massive. Thanks to everyone who helped to this project. The good Lord will bless you all.

Back to school project will help these ones and would remain grateful to you all. Thanks once again.

Am so sorry @iamchijamz, I know how it feels seeing your course mates not writing exams with you, I hope you will find help in the platform. Resteemed

Thank you so much sir, I deeply appreciate

I sent you something from here . I hope it helps you and your friends.

Thank you so much sir, you believed in me enough to make a post about this,and still make donations, i truly appreciate sir.

Hopefully today is a better day. How far are you away from the goal now?

We have achieved over 60% of the target, thanks to @sircork of @youarehope foundation that sent us 40 steem, and we had other donations. I believe God will see us through and bring this project to fruition.

that is great. I wish you the best. the post should pay out another 9 or so sbd/ steem for you also. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Education is critical in life. We can help by sharing your post.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you so much @newbieresteemday,i really appreciate your help, i didnt know about you guys before, subsequently i will make use of your tags.

This is why platforms like steemit will gain a lot of traction in the less developed World - we need all the help we can get. I hope my upvote and resteem at least does something.

Thank you so much for your help and support, we hope to utilize the Steemit platform to put smiles on the faces of people and generate massive adoption of the Steem Currency.

@iamchijamz education is the bedrock of a great nation. Unfortunately in nigeria, the economy mercies nobody leaving eager youths to improve on their academics with little or no financial power for tuition.

I see this as an avenue to start a #steemit scholarship. I know steemit will grow to that soonest. I support #backToSchool project

That is entirely true sir, we have already started making plans towards achieving back to school Project steemit scholarship program,thank you so much sir for your help and support.

I really pray ur friends get the help they need, if only the country will be more proactive in matters of education

Thank you so much for your help and prayers, i deeply appreciate

Ur always welcome, followed

I know how it feel to be unable to pay one's school fees....more especially now they are In their finals.

It's appalling and disappointing to find out that the cause of one's academic failure did not necessarily come from his/her proposed academic decadence of failure to do well, but was caused by unforeseen circumstances such as this.

Awwnn, that so sad
Despite the fact that am trying to raise my school fee too.
I will donate 1steem
Thanks for being tge voice

Thank you dear

I really pray you get the help needed and soon.

Hey mate, So you need about $200 USD to help out our friends. At the rate of exchange of 1 USD to 360 Naira how much left do you need?

Good morning sir, i have a total of 53(both stem and SBD),we still need approximately 29 STEEEM, which @ $1.97 each will be $55.4 ,this is an estimate of the amount remaining to complete this task sir,

Thank you so much for your help.

Groovy. Ill keep a watch on this and look at tossing some your way.

Thanks a lot, i will be expectant sir, i deeply appreciate.

Great rescue by @iamchijamz. Resteeming this.

Well done.

All goin to help in any ways we can

Thank you so much sir, i really appreciate.