My Story #0 - The Love of My Life

in #south7 years ago (edited)

I'm from (sunny) South Africa! Born and raised in the concrete jungle of Johannesburg and Pretoria, in September we are now putting away our polo necks and sweaters for flip flops and short sleeves; now getting into the Spring rainy season.
We've been in a little bit of an identity crisis ever since we came into freedom in 1994 and since then it's been a constant uphill battle of trying to figure out exactly what we want to do as a nation and where we fit into this world - just like me!

According to the website https://www.16personalities.com/personality-types; my personality type is "ENFP PERSONALITY (“THE CAMPAIGNER”)". You can take the free test and find out what yours is. I define myself as an innovator. Although I have this much knowledge on myself I seem to still have so much more I want to do, have you ever experienced this? Like you are placed in a little box of expectations that you are not allowed to climb out of and if you dare do something from the crowd you are considered the 'black sheep'.

If I had to talk about myself I would have to put it in a story about my first real love as I was in high school. Everything that comes after this is a continuation of what she and I went through. Please let me know in the comments if you want me to elaborate on anything I say!

Love


I remember how she could walk into a room and my entire world would stop for a moment, like my life would flash right in front of my eyes as she becomes my very future. In my flash, she would have the smile that lit 1000 homes, eyes that pierced right down to my wounded soul and gave me comfort to know that she belongs to me and me alone.
Today is the first day I met her.

First day of high school, one year from completing my high school career and I cannot wait to be done with this. I only ever look forward to the break time and when the final bell rings for the end of day so I'm clearly not having the time of my life in this place. My school has this tradition of announcing new students to the entire school, the process is a lot like an awkward auction where the principal announces the new recruits in their green uniform. My name is called; "Rudzani, who will be in 11C", I stand up and wave to the school assembly.

The students of my new school seem to enjoy the awkwardness that it brings to the new students as the school bullies choose who they would be terrorizing at break time and picking off the easy litter. I wasn't worried about it too much though I knew before I came to the school that all new recruits are made or broken in the first day of school so I knew how to avoid being a target.
Assembly dismissed.

Our day is pretty scheduled, we start the day off in our main classes (in my case 11C) where we take roll-call. Because this is our first day we all make our way to our appointed classes. I arrive a little early to my class and I am greeted with a friendly smile and a welcome from my teacher, she tells me in a very polite voice to sit anywhere I want to since there are no predetermined seats yet.
As students come walking in, in comes this goddess of a girl. Nothing I can put into words describe how the world suddenly stopped and gravity become non-existent. I had never been a fan of the colour green but from that day I was converted. She woke up every primal instinct I had hidden and made me forget where I was for a moment I was in love.

As everyone was settling in and being told to sit down anywhere they want, she sat closer to the back where they could pass notes and be social while in class. As our names were being called out, I eagerly wait on her name to be called so that she could say "Present". I learned that day, the name of my future wife; Rori.

Rori has cornrows that are woven into a neat zig-zag pattern and her lips are full and have a have a slight shine thanks to the lip balm she just applied in class. I sat three seats behind her and couldn't believe what my body was doing today.
I'm a hopeless romantic, I grew up listening to songs like "I'll Make Love To You - Boyz2Men and Let's Get Married - Jagged Edge" so you know I couldn't stop thinking about how she would be the one I serenade when the time is right.

This is also the time I got to meet my best friend, Thabiso who sat next to me as he noticed how I was starring at Rori the entire time. He told me that I shouldn't make it so obvious that I'm struck and that he would make an introduction if I wanted - I wasn't ready yet.

After our introductions to each other and class schedules being handed out we started going our different ways to the classes assigned to our subject choices. I got to meet a bunch of people throughout the day and it was a pretty good first day overall. Wish I had the courage to talk to Rori though but I chickened out. Maybe tomorrow I will have the strength to approach you.

7763667_orig.png

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @rudzanimat I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you @bottymcbotface (dig the nickname), thank you for the upvote of support. I will be returning the patronage on articles I like from you

Look who's here ^^ Rudzanimat, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thank you @rightuppercorner, I think I just might!

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Very nice story! Waiting for more!