Gagarin in our hearts forever - 12 April - Cosmonautics Day

in #space6 years ago

In memory of the first flight in history of a human being in space we celebrate today, 12 April, the day of cosmonautics. On this very day, 57 years ago (year 1961) Soviet cosmonaut Yuri A.Gagarin orbited earth in spaceship "Vostok". 108 minutes is how long the flight lasted, the whole world was watching, because it was for sure not easy and dangerous indeed. Gagarin led the way for further space exploration. Cosmonautics day is now not only a Russia holiday but the worldwide, international holiday as well because it opened the door to space. We in Russia are so proud of Gagarin. A great person with such a great warm smile... we'll never forget him. The source of this information is from my memory, my heart, from what our teachers in high school told us, and I wanted to share it with you today.
Do you in your countries celebrate the Cosmonautics Day as much as we do?




Photos: from Georgiy Dimov archive
from Tass archive: https://www.tassphoto.com

Sort:  

Gagarin is a hero to knowledgeable space enthusiasts and STEM* advocates everywhere, but some societies, including mine in the USA, lack the celebration of Cosmonautics Day.

*Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

Thanks for reminding us how much he and his fellows did for us all, and when it was done!

Thank you for resteem, @custone! I still have no clue how steemit works)))) how do people see my posts? only through tags? I got a lot to learn for sure!

This is not completely clear to me either. When a post of yours is new, people can see it by searching for new posts. Also, as you said, people can see your posts through the tags. Finally, your followers can see what you have posted, although the way this works is a bit vague, since I am your follower and only some, not all, of your posts appear in my feed. If I want to see all of your posts, I have to visit your blog page.

I see... Difficult to master this smart steemit for me :)

That is interesting (the fact that some societies lack the celebration) because as you know this day was made international day of cosmonautics, although not at very beginning. I wonder why that is.

Where the USA is concerned i suspect the old "space race" Cold War rivalry with the USSR is to blame, though Gagarin himself worked very hard as a kind of citizen diplomat and cultural ambassador to transcend such barriers.

You are right! From what I've read, everyone loved him, he warmed peoples hearts so, he had this unique talent.