Sort:  

Can you imagine how awesome it would be if we could Terra form Mars? But it probably won't happen in our lifetime

Actually, Elon Musk teased that during a conference when he unveiled the BFR for the first time with this video. It wouldn't even be that hard. We's have to nuke the planet's poles, and the atmosphere would be much denser and basically terraform the planet. Problem is that the magnetic core is weak, and it would be blown away by solar storms, and be lost back in about a century. We could see it, but it's not worth it. Other methods of doing it are probably too intensive to be worth it now, so you're unfortunately probably right on the last part. But who knows? Science is evolving faster and faster, till then, we'll have to make due with stuff like this and this mad genius at work :)

Yes, I think you're right on both counts. Terraforming is a long-term project.

Some information transpired: "Drone-ship landing of the central core failed due to TEA-TEB chemical igniter run out, preventing two of its central core engines to restart"
&

https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/960995626103267328
Anouncement of "We lost the center core" on live tech webcast.

I am also an aviation and space geek so I wrote an article on it a few days ago, but I can't wait to read your article.

I know, I know. Just saw the conference as I couldn't stay up, so I didn't have the information at the time of writing that. I expected them losing that core when I saw the reaction at the end of the stream. Still, I think it was a great test flight, especially that synchronized side booster landing.

I am working on an a post detailing what I know. I need to learn how to edit to make a proper tribute or something :)

If you are from Romania join our community on discord: https://discord.gg/nQGyaK :P

Yep, I'm from Romania, I'll be sure to join and post updates there. Thanks!

Hi, I found some acronyms/abbreviations in this post. This is how they expand:

AcronymExplanation
BECOBooster Engine Cut-Off
LEOLow Earth Orbit (180-2000km),Law Enforcement Officer (most often mentioned during transport operations)
LZLanding Zone
LZ-1Landing Zone 1, Cape Canaveral (see LC-13)
LZ-2Landing Zone 2, Vandenberg (see SLC-4W)
MECOMain Engine Cut-Off,MainEngineCutOff podcast
SECOSecond-stage Engine Cut-Off

I wonder why they used CGI graphics and cut away video techniques... I would like to think this was real but it looked so fake.

Wtf are you talking about? :))

thats really awesome

It is indeed! Hope you'll enjoy the stream!

It was amazing!!!!

Indeed it was!

I think Elon.M has so many targets that we think he's crazy, in just a few years he's going to completely change the perspective of the new barriers.

Indeed. That's why I like the guy. He often aims too high, but he does reach quite a bit of his goals, and supports others that aim there too. He already has changed the auto market and the space market, with previously having changed the money transfer market.