You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From now on I am flagging spam comments.

in #spam7 years ago

Thank you for doing this, and for posting about it, and for the Caravaggio :)

I've been on here only a few weeks and after making the effort to post original and useful content I quickly became disgusted at the sheer volume of worthless, dishonest, generic copypasta that all too often involves fraudulent claims of false authorship over works by other people thieved from elsewhere and submitted here for reward and recognition. And they're getting paid for these acts.

It has discouraged me from creating any more original content here because the ROI on effort is statistically negligible compared to payouts for c&p. So...

In the last few days I have begun randomly checking posts that consist mainly of images with little or no words. With some effort I have been able to determine a number of them to be stolen works falsely claimed as original works by the submitter, track down the original and the original author, and reply to the steemit post with these details including links to original in-situ and web sites/social media of the original author.

You can peruse my comments here or I can give you some links to specific replies if you prefer. I'm also happy to take advice on a better way to gain more exposure for these and future investigations.

I'd rather be producing guides on photo editing, technology, etc et al, but for now these activities and voting/resteeming/commenting on quality content like this will have to suffice.

Sort:  

Thanks for the long comment - I think that you might find it worthwile to help in the steemitabusechannel. I did so for a while last year and they even pay you for your efforts. The Steem comes from the steemcleaner reports.

They do a great work and I think that you can use your time in a worthwhile fashion there. It's of course a place with a lot of drama, but also exiting detective work :)

Thanks for the tip, I'll go check it out; detective work, you say?

I used quite some time because it was exiting to catch plagiarists and because I had some skills in doing it.