@pleasestop Mentioning Me! - Remove mentions of your account from my comments

in #spam6 years ago

Community Feedback

Earlier today I got this reply.

is_there_a_way.png

I want to show absolute respect for the parent author posts I'm commenting on so I've recently rolled a whitelist to allow accounts to prevent me from appearing on their posts at all or even remove my comment that I've already made on a post.

I point this out in every comment I make.

@parentauthor - You can remove this comment and everyone can whitelist me from appearing in future posts.

The reply today suggested a great middle ground, to still allow me to comment but without blowing up your own alerts because I mentioned your account. I love this idea and it's another opportunity to show further respect for the parent authors and their posts.

No Mention Whitelist

I'm excited to announce--only 7 hours later--the @pleasestop No Mention Whitelist!

Now, if you'd like to allow me to still reply to spammers on your posts, but without mentioning your account directly you can just add your account to my No Mention Whitelist.

Sign-up

It's easy to get started. Just send a transfer of 0.001 SBD or STEEM to @pleasestop with this memo:

no mention

You will automatically get a refund of the full amount you send. If there are any glitches I will still manually refund your transfer later.

Respect the Community

As I've said I want to respect the community and particularly the posts I'm commenting on. This is another step in that direction and I'm always welcoming more feedback like this.

Can I go further with this, or anything else? I'm always looking for feedback like this to help me become a better version of myself so please share any ideas you might have to help improve my work.

Sort:  

As I've said I want to respect the community and particularly the posts I'm commenting on.

This attitude is very laudable and I've seen you post other thoughts like that. I've been increasingly concerned with both 'digital vigilantism' (which this wouldn't be anyway) and unintended consequences from well-intentioned bot writers (everything from just being annoying to shoot-first, whitelist later approaches).

I'm curious if you're interested in formalizing your approach and what you've learned from user feedback. I'd certainly like to read it and, because I feel bots on the blockchain are both inevitable and potentially extremely beneficial, think that it could be valuable to the community in the future (even if only as the seed of an idea).

Thanks so much for this reply, this is exactly the sort of affirmation and feedback I'm looking for.

I'm curious if you're interested in formalizing your approach and what you've learned from user feedback.

Absolutely, I've been slowly putting this together and plan to put every aspect of my work fully out in the open. That's not exactly straightforward so I'm working out a few other details before I roll this out but it won't be too much longer.

I am interested in that too and thx for your effort

hola alguien puede explicarme como funciona esto ? no quiero tener errores en mis contenidos

You can read my intro and then learn how excessive comments impact bandwidth and then finally some better ways to engage with the community.