Sort:  

Mark can some one explain to me what is going on here? I know you're some ones opinion I valued enough to follow but I don't understand what's going on between you all coming back to this website..

Lyndsay is actually a very compassionate person... So I'm just confused why everyone is at odds now. :'(

It’s a long story but basically FTG was posting 16,000 times a day with an account, I blacklisted it and later he tried to promote a post for 400 Steem to which my blacklist denied 60 Steem of on my bot. The post was a single link to a third party site and that’s it.

He removed his witness vote and I asked him why. He said I blacklisted his account and demanded a refund and said he was going to perm flag me.

He flagged all my comments hidden for a month using 100 bots and after a while I decided to create a bot that deleted and recreated my comments whenever he hid them.

His response was to post 35,000 comments spamming my comments and posts and anyone who speaks up about it. The average daily comment volune was 33,000 comments a day prior and reached 69,000 with his spam.

A fix has been made to prevent spam at those levels from impacting the user experience or being displayed in the front end.

And that’s where we are today. FTG has the posting keys of many of his followers and uses them to flag me and others and upvote trolls.

Thanks for tbe reply ~ but wow...... that's also disappointing.

We have an ocean of other platforms competing with this one, so the best way to flop it would be to have all the users fighting against one another.

I also thought FTG was some one worth connecting with, but it sounds like the power of witness is creating the same crap division in yet another system.

Bots have ruined the internet...
While they can be so helpful, its unfortunate they've spammed up every social media site these days.

The likes of Berniesanders has ruined Steemit! I powered down and left many months ago... this, the Game of Clones!

You're being a bit disingenuous here. You sent his 60 Steem to @null, and showed him the cap. You were about as insulting as possible, and he was right to be offended. I don't agree with his actions thereafter, but you should own up to yours that greatly escalated the disagreement between you.

One of the things that most bothers me about this is that Steemit and other UIs using it's APIs have resorted to very centralized censorship as a result. I see this as perhaps another route Steem might tumble down over the cliff of censorship, which will end it's utility to many.

Mal would disapprove. He was all about opposing censorship and centralized authority. Like him, faced with it, FTG has rebelled. Mal would have too. Due to your central causative effect, it would be nice if you did what can be done to enable users - not UIs - are availed this censoring ability. I reckon if that censoring is necessary, it should be individuals that effect it on their blogs personally, rather than creating imperial force that can be applied to the entire platform.